Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Choco Power! May 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — plentifulplants @ 9:24 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

This morning I took a trip to St. Lawrence Market first thing to check out what was up for grabs (and to replenish my supply of chia seeds so I can bring back the green monster breakfasts). I was very happy to see more local produce available AND I found some excellent items to try for the CCV/K New Foods Challenge in order to redeem my papaya ordeal.

But first, before setting off I had an apple.

2009_05_09_apple

I bought two new-to-me items, which get extra points in my books for being wild and foraged. Fiddleheads and wild leeks. I took my finds home with me and got to work on brunch. The internet had me paranoid about poisoning myself with the fiddle heads, so I boiled them first, then tossed them into a pan to sautee with the wild leeks, some portobello mushroom, and a little butter. The result was DELICIOUS (but would have looked nicer without the black mushroom…). I really liked the fiddleheads, they had a nice creamy texture with an artichokey-broccoli stalkish flavour. The leeks were what I expected, mild and tasty, but expensive enough that I’d rather just buy green onions. But I do hope the fiddleheads are still around next week. I also scrambled a couple eggs in the pan after the ferns were finished.

2009_05_09_lunch

2009_05_09_fiddlehead

Then for brunch dessert, despite knowing what was to come in the afternoon, I enjoyed one of the Cherry Chocolate Oatmeal cookies I made for my BSI entry this morning. After all, even though I had used the recipe before, I had to make sure this version turned out well before posting the recipe, didn’t I? It was a success.

2009_05_09_dessert

Now what was to come? Cake delivery! Ricky of Diet, Desserts and Dogs brought me this beautiful chocolate cake with sweet potato/orange icing that I won from here contest a while back. Thank you so much Ricky, it was great to meet you and HH!

2009_05_09_sidecake

2009_05_09_cake

A few of my roomie and I’s friends came over this afternoon and we enjoyed cake and Wii Mario Party to celebrate the end of exams/some people’s graduations/grad school acceptances/and summer in general. I thoroughly enjoyed a slice. And then another, as did every one else. The cake was just so good, moist and perfectly chocolaty without being too sweet! It makes me want to buy Sweet Freedom just for this one recipe (p.s. you could also win a copy)! And everyone loved both the orange icing and the chocolate filling.

2009_05_09_slice

I love that the cake must be relatively wholesome and healthy too because those two slices filled me up forever. I’m guessing it contains beets, am I crazy?

A whole 7 hours after eating that second piece of cake I started to get hungry again so I helped the roomie finished off his latest batch of Root Soup. I know it involved carrots, potatoes, parsnips, onions, rosemary, and chives at least, and was also very tasty. Though the bowl was quite full and I couldn’t finish it.

2009_05_09_soup

All in all, today’s eats were wonderfully successful compared to yesterday. And I get to look forward to leftover chocolate cake tomorrow. Yum.

 

7 Responses to “Choco Power!”

  1. Sharon Says:

    I’m going to lookout for fiddleheads, that is so neat!
    And oooh cake, that looks scrumptious!!!!!!

  2. Ricki Says:

    Fiddleheads are yummy, aren’t they? And I’m so glad you and your gang enjoyed the cake! Thanks, too, for the deelish roasted chickpeas–I’ve been snacking on them all day :)

    PS No, no beets. That’s a whole other cake! ;)

  3. Amanda Says:

    oooh, I’m going to the st lawrence next weekend!! Everything looks great!!

  4. Krista Says:

    Fiddleheads are SO good! They remind me of asparagus. As long as the rain holds off, we will be picking some out at the farm this morning!

    The cake looks fabulous!

  5. Oh man, so YOU were the lucky winner of Ricki’s contest. Jealous!!!

    Also: I’ve always wanted to try fiddleheads, because they look so cool!

  6. Meredith Says:

    Beautiful cake! And yay for new foods challenge :)

  7. Marianne Says:

    What a beautiful looking cake!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.