Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

It’s Canada Day July 1, 2009

Up Canada way
On the first day of July!

Gotta love Stompin’ Tom :)

I made an honest attempt at patriotic breakfast art, which slightly failed due to runny ingredients. I started with a base of Heather inspired oatgurt, which I blended with water, chia and stevia powder. Then I took a pair of scissors to a cereal box for the application of strawberry “jam”, strawberries blended with agave and chia for thickening.

2009_07_01_stencil

While both ingredients were pretty fantastic, both separately, and together, they were a bit too runny to for proper stencil application. But you can figure out what that’s supposed to be, right?

2009_07_01_breakfast

Lunch was a super tomato-y affair. Regular tomato, kumato, avocado, carrot, and pineapple salsa mixed with fresh parsley (which was amazing with bites of avocado).

2009_07_01_lunch

Then mid-afternoon I played around a bit in the kitchen and produced these tasty little Pumpkin Pie Bites.

I used:
~ 1 cup whole dates, which I chopped before processing
1/4 cup dried coconut
1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1 T water
~1/2 cup pumpkin seeds

I threw the first four ingredients in the food processor and chopped until combined (my dates were a bit dry, so you may not need the water). Then I formed the mixture into balls, and rolled them in the pumkpin seeds.

Pretty darned delicious, if I do say so myself. I snacked on a couple of them.

2009_07_01_pumpkin_pie_balls

For dinner I de-rawed/veganed myself for a plate of chicken baked with Peach and Bourbon BBQ sauce, baked kabocha, and steamed Europe’s Best Nature’s Balance frozen veggie mix. The kabocha received and dose of ketchup post photo-op.

2009_07_01_dinner

I used this Ted Reader’s sauce for the chicken, and it was really good, unexpectedly spicy, but good.

2009_07_01_sauce

And I’ve got some dessert waiting for me during SYTYCD, almost a repeat of yesterday, brazil nut milk blended with frozen raspberries (it was freezer clean out sort of night).  I would totally go see some fireworks, but all the displays except Ontario Place have been cancelled due to the outdoor city workers strike, so I assume Ontario Place is going to be over packed and the street car will be crazy to get home on at a reasonable hour to go to bed to get up for work tomorrow.  Though they will also have fireowkrs on Saturday night, s I might go see those.

2009_07_01_milk

PS. I’m insanely jealous of Gina right now, I was hanging out in Chapter’s today browsing through Living Raw Food ($48, seriously? that’s not what the exchange rate is these days), and if I could go to 105degrees Academy, I totally would.

 

7 Responses to “It’s Canada Day”

  1. Can I please come at your house? I LOVE all your meals, and your breakfast flag was beyond creative. Maybe I should do something like that for the 4th? Nah, our flag is too complicated. :)

    Your bites look delicious, and I’m glad I’m not the only one who enjoys her kabocha with a little ketchup. Have you tried it with nut butter yet?!?

    • plentifulplants Says:

      If you’re ever in Toronto you can feel free to come on over! And I love kabocha with nut butters, especially hemp!

  2. broccolihut Says:

    Those pumpkin pie bites are ridiculously cute!

  3. Ricki Says:

    Happy Canada Day! I love your breakfast art. :)

  4. Krista Says:

    Love that breakfast! :) Actually, I love all the food in this post. That lunch looks wildly delicious, the pumpkin pie bites would disappear VERY quickly around me and dinner is bright and beautiful. I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for the sauce you used….

  5. Marianne Says:

    I think your Canada flag turned out pretty damn good :) That maple leaf is hard to draw.

    Those pumpkin pie bites are very cute.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.