Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Uncooperative Electrons August 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — plentifulplants @ 6:22 pm

Sorry for disappearing last night, I had a couple tussles with technology. First, as I was going to take a picture of my dinner, my camera battery died. Which wasn’t all that surprising after I realized I hadn’t charged it in a month or so. That’s actually pretty impressive, Canon.

The second upset was when I rather clumsily knocked over a bottle of water on my desk and it splashed onto my laptop. And several of the keys stopped working. Which made writing a post rather garbled with many more typos than usual. So I’m writing this up a work today, and really hoping that my keyboard starts working again when I got home and turn on my computer tonight. Otherwise, you’ll just get a picture of dinner with no explanation  :)

Breakfast yesterday was a green monster, kale, chia, banana, and frozen mixed berries.

2009_08_04_monster

For lunch I had a giant salad made of cabbage, zucchini, green onion and a sauce made of pesto, tomato paste, and water. I love this cabbage, it’s really mild tasting, and makes great “noodles” along with the zucchini.

2009_08_04_salad

For a snack I had black raspberries. YUM!

2009_08_04_berries

For my unpictured dinner I had a big salad of spring mix topped with beet, carrot, peas, walnuts, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil.

Then for breakfast this morning I had the same green monster as yesterday, and skipped the repeat photo. Why does it seem like the sun is suddenly rising much later than it used to?

For lunch I had leftover cabbage salad from yesterday’s lunch topped with cucumber and carrot.
2009_08_05_lunc

And in the afternoon a Key Lime Pie Larabar. I think this is my favourite.

2009_08_05_larabar

Dinner is another salad with cabbage, spring mix, green onion, carrot, cucumber, peas, black raspberries, and balsamic vinear.

2009_08_05_salad

And dessert!  Cherry Nirvana Purely Decadent Ice Cream with extra cherries, yum!

2009_08_05_dessert

So it looks like I’m going to be disappearing this weekend too! I’m headed up to Ottawa for a couple of days (really just Saturday and Sunday morning plus lots of driving) with my parents to visit my sister who is finishing up a co-op placement at the hospital there. I’ve never been, any suggestions as to what to see/do/eat? I’m thinking the Museums of Agriculture and Science and Technology look fun and not too expensive, plus one of the arty ones. Why can’t our national museums be free like they are in England?

And the keys still don’t work.  Argh.  I’ve resorted to copy and pasting.  I think I’m going to have to get a new keyboard to plug into my laptop…  Why do I have to use g, h, ‘, ctrl, and backspace so often?

 

6 Responses to “Uncooperative Electrons”

  1. Krista Says:

    Have fun in Ottawa! I’ve never been either!

  2. christina Says:

    Black raspberries? I’ve never seen them. They look incredible! And that dessert looks divine. I thank the heavens for Purely Decadent every day. Have a great trip!

  3. Cindy Says:

    I say you should visit the market.

    Make some time to venture in “sandy Hill” near the Uof O side of town…

    There is also a really good flea market that is open on saturday AM (but not sure of it’s location…. to me it seems closer to the Carleton side of town)

    HAVE FUN. See you in September. Let’s co-ordinate a meet up

  4. haya Says:

    the science and tech musem, while cool, is fairly directed at kids. the museum of civilization in hull is pretty awesome though. and i’ve heard good things about the war museum. natural history museum is free on saturday mornings.

    definitely check out the byward market. lots of good restaurants there.

    • plentifulplants Says:

      Thanks! I was actually already considering the Civ museum instead after a bit more research, and I’m definitely planning on checking out byward market

  5. Kat Says:

    Where are you? I miss your posts, they always inspire me to eat better.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.