Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

A horrible mistake September 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — plentifulplants @ 4:46 pm

So now that the first week of classes is over, I’m pleased to report I’m very happy with all my course choices.  Engineering project finance and management looks like it’s going to be a bit of a pain, but it was the only course I was required to take all year, so I’ll live with it.  I LOVE the Linguistics prof, she’s very well spoken and makes the class very interesting.  It might help that Maggie’s been fueling my excitement for the course since a couple of days after I signed up for it.  The only bad thing is that the course is Tuesday nights!  Which means no So You Think You Can Dance Canada for me.  *Tear*  I was having fun watching Emanuel Sandhu actually dance instead of just skate on the ground.

Anyway, on to the food.  This is what’s been on my plate recently.

I whipped up a batch of Kristen’s Creamy-n-Soft Cauliflower Soup.  “Twas muy delicioso, especially with a dollop homemade spaghetti sauce I made by reducing a jar of canned tomatoes I nabbed from my mom’s pantry with caramellized onions, garlic and a bunch of herbs (lots of basil) and nutritional yeast.

20090914_001

I rediscovered my long neglected jar of hemp seed butter, enjoying some spread on carrots with kombu seaweed tossed in miso on the side.

20090915_003

I faced something I’ve been fearing since I first heard about in the blog world.

My roomie actually mentioned hearing about and wanting to try Kombucha when we went out to eat at Live.  I noticed it at Essences of Life a while ago, but have been to scared to try it.  Since I had a willing partner in crime, I figured it was time to give it a try.

20090916_007

His and hers glasses of green tea with lemon flavour.  I believe they also have oolong, oolong with pear and ginger, and jasmine tea with grape.  I was a bit discouraged when I sniffed the bottle after opening, it smelled like vinegar!

20090916_009

The verdict?  It actually tasted quite pleasant.  As long as I didn’t take too deep a breathe as I was sipping (or drank it out of the bootle, I suppose) it just tasted like fizzy iced green tea with lemon, quite yummy.  I’m glad I’ve tried kombucha now, but at $3/8.5 oz bottle I’m not likely to make it a routine purchase.  The roomy liked it too.

This morning I took my first stab at a non-smoothie raw breakfast.  There was a slight mishap when I made some sunflower seed milk with rather unappetizing results, but a box of almond milk I bought a  while ago came to the recuse, even if it wasn’t raw anymore.  In my bowl was sprouted buckwheat that dried on the counter overnight to get a little crunchy again, wild elderberries, almond milk, and amazon bliss.  Holy yum.

20090917_011

Lunch was equally tasty.  I dug into a tub of the best storebought hummus ever with the aid of a plateful of veggies.  Seriously, Morrocan Style from Metro, if you can, go try it!

20090917_014

 

8 Responses to “A horrible mistake”

  1. Maggie Says:

    I’m so glad you like my blog!! Linguistics is pretty awesome :)

    Your pics look great – perfect lighting.

  2. Krista Says:

    I’ll have to try that Hummus. I like how you have green beans there to dip!

    Kombucha!! I don’t think I’ll ever get the nerve to try that stuff…

  3. Tina Says:

    Everyone keeps posting about Kombucha and I’ve never seen it ANYWHERE in Holland… I’m getting curious!

    I love seaweed! Especially wakame, but I’m pretty unimaginative when it comes to what I can do with it. When the shops open on monday, I’m going to go get myself some miso and try it!

    xx
    Btw. You have a very inspiring story, I wish you good luck ;)

  4. Marianne Says:

    Ah, Emanuel. I used to skate at the same rink as him in Vancouver. Seen him on the ice many a time. I’m actually quite impressed with how he’s doing on SYTYCD.

  5. Hattie Says:

    Have you quit your blog? Seriously miss it!

  6. Maytina Says:

    Woah yummy!! It all looks great but your breakfast looks so so good!

  7. Hi ! I just discovered your blog and I’m so happy I have found a “canadian” healthy eating blog! I’m from montreal and I never visited toronto, but I would love to !
    Most of the blogs are from the US, so we don’t really share the same products, but I guess there is more things that we share in commun within the same country! My blog is in french, but I will love to share your food experiment and yummies recipes (I really like your pics and meals…looks so tasty !)
    have a nice day!

  8. valentie Says:

    Hey, it’s been so long I haven’t seen any updates on here. Why don’t you blog any more? It’s pretty sad since I love your blogs a lot. It’s very inspiring!
    I hope you’ll soon manage your schedule and spare a little time on here, maybe once in a week would be fine.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.