Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

The first day February 19, 2009

This morning for breakfast I had a lovely bowl of Hewitt’s skim milk natural yogurt topped with blueberries, chia seeds, and dried cranberries. I grew up about 10 minutes from Hewitt’s dairy and I like that the yogurt is local, so I picked it up when I saw it at a health food store a while ago. Unfortunately, it’s really watery and a bit more tart than I would like. I might strain the rest to make greek-ish yogurt, but I think I’ll switch back to the Liberte stuff I usually buy for eating plain.

2009_02_19_yogurt

To take to work I packed up some very juicy fruit, cantaloupe, blackberries, and an almost too ripe banana. I had the banana and berries for a morning snack and the melon just before coming home.

2009_02_19_fruit

For lunch I brought a giant salad made of red leaf lettuce, cucumber, grape tomatoes, and red, yellow, and orange bell peppers. I shook up the veggies with some lemon juice and a finely chopped sun-dried tomato that was packed in olive oil.

2009_02_19_salad

That huge salad was paired with some hearty homemade whole wheat bread and a couple of hard boiled eggs.

2009_02_19_bread-and-egg

For supper I quickly tossed some frozen asparagus spears with honey mustard and threw them in the oven along with some extra firm tofu slices topped with teriyaki sauce.  The microwave was treated to some Europe’s Best Romanesco Concerto frozen vegetable mix which included yellow and orange carrots, green beans, and broccoli romanesco.  These veggies also got some teriyaki sauce before ending up on my plate.

2009_02_19_supper

And finally for dessert, a handful of roasted, salted cashews found their way in a glass, and under a grater.

2009_02_19_cashews

Why under a grater?  To catch a sprinkling of tasty freshly grated nutmeg of course!

2009_02_19_nutmeg

And now I should head back to the kitchen to clean up and get some lunch ready to take to work tomorrow.  Good night!

 

Leave a Reply

