Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

A bar review, already? February 20, 2009

This morning I got up and enjoyed a crunchy bowl of Kashi Honey Almond Flax cereal mixed with All-bran Original and unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze.

2009_02_20_breakfast

I then fought my way to work through the icy cold wind to work where, later in the morning, I had and Elevate Me! Banana Nut Bread bar.

2009_02_20_bar-open

From their website, it seems as though these bars have been around for a while, but perhaps due to the fact they’re Canadian they haven’t made their way into the blogsphere yet?  Which is unfortunate because they seem like excellent candidates for general appreciation.  The bar is essentially a Larabar with a larger number of fruits in each flavour, mixed with whey protein isolate.  I find Larabars tend to be too sweet to eat all at once but I think these bars have a smaller amount of dates, which leaves room for more flavour from the other fruits to come through, and the protein powder gives the bar a bit of a creamy feel and more chew.  This particular flavour could either do with more banana, or could be renamed Apple Nut Bread.  It’s good, just not very bananay.  I’ve tried most of the flavours (missing the two with goji and acai berry) and so far I’ve liked them all.  While this bar isn’t my favourite, it’s in the upper half of the rankings.  I noticed these bars appeared in Whole Foods a couple weeks ago in Toronto, so perhaps they’re going to be widely distributed soon?  We shall see.

Later for lunch I had a spinach egg white omlette with a liberal dose of italian seasoning.

2009_02_20_omlette

Along with colourful bell peppers and celery with Nuts to You Nut Butter Inc. Mystery Butter 2

2009_02_20_veggies

What’s the mystery?  Peanut Hazelnut Butter, very tasty. (I don’t know why the picture shows almonds and cashews…that’s Mystery Butter 1…)

2009_02_20_nut-butter

Afternoon snack consisted of a blood orange (my favourite citrus fruit), a pear, and blueberries.

2009_02_20_fruit

Everything packed up.

2009_02_20_lunch-packed

I got home late and  fixed up a quick stirfry to help in my quest to empty out the freezer that’s over flowing with oddly shaped packages that like to create avalanches every time my roommate or I open it.  The delicious plateful of food included extra firm tofu, cabbage, onion, carrot, corn, and edamame, all sauteed in sesame oil, lemon juice, and a dash of reduced sodium soy sauce.

2009_02_20_dinner

And now I think I’ll start to enjoy the weekend with a book and a nice hot cup of tea before bed.

 

Leave a Reply

