Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Chocolate and greens February 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — plentifulplants @ 5:37 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Last night I stayed up far too late watching Project Runway Canada and had two tasty snacks while doing so.

First, there was some bread slathered in tahini topped with honey dates.  I was sad to discover when I opened the bag of bread that one whole loaf (about the size of a sub roll) was starting to go moldy (I made 3 loaves last weekend).  So I cut off all the crusts and ended up with some very square pieces.  They still tasted good though.  I need to remember next time to put some bread in the freezer since my roommate and I don’t eat it very quickly.

2009_02_22_dates

I topped of the night with some chocolaty treats.  A piece of Earl Grey chocolate and a Caramel Nut Brownie Luna bar.  I had never had this flavour bar before and was pleasantly surprised by the layer of caramel on top, very good.

2009_02_22_chocolate

This morning for breakfast I finished off the bread, spreading it part with hummus, and part with strawberry, blackberry, acai jam.

2009_02_22_bread

I also mixed up a thick berry-licious smoothie using silken tofu and blueberries.

2009_02_22_smoothie

2009_02_22_outside

For lunch I had a big steaming bowl of chili paste and pumpkin spicy spinach soup topped with extra firm tofu cubes that were sauteed in olive oil and cinnamon.

2009_02_22_soup

Unfortunately the tofu cubes sank before I could take a picture.  But I really enjoyed their cinnamony crusts.

2009_02_22_tofu

The smooth soup was enjoyed with some crunchy Sahale Snacks Ksar Pistachios.  So good, especially because I love pumpkin seeds, perfectly sweet with a hint of spice and chewy fig chunks.

2009_02_22_nuts

After a few hours of Mario Party Wii fun with the roomie I had a hot cup of tea with half a Carrot Cake Clif bar.

2009_02_22_snack

Now I need to think about coming up with something for dinner before the Oscars start.  Don’t want to miss the red carpet….

 

Leave a Reply

