Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

And the award goes to… February 23, 2009

Last night for dinner I pulled a pork tenderloin out of the freezer and threw it into the oven along with a giant sweet potato.  When they were done reheating/roasting I plated some meat and potato wedges with a red leaf lettuce salad topped with mini bell pepper rings, goats cheese and goddess dressing.  The salad was perfect with the cheese and the dressing, they went so well together, I was very pleased.

2009_02_23_dinner

The sweet potato was glazed with Big Bull Steak Sauce, my favourite barbeque type sauce.  It’s made with awesome wholesome ingredients and comes from my hometown :-).  I fact, I won it in a draw last summer when I was working for the Chamber of Commerce, and got to chose the flavour based on advice from the makers themselves.

2009_02_23_sauce

2009_02_23_sauce-ing

After dinner I had a lovely dessert of a thinly sliced giant juicy Fuji apple while watching some Amazing Race.

2009_02_23_fuji

My rommie and I then settled in for some Oscar viewing fun.  We both fell in love with Penelope Cruz’s dress, were impressed by Hugh Jackman’s singing skills, and decided we need to make an effort to see Slumdog Millionaire.  I rarely ever watch movies, but enjoy watching the awards any way.  The only movies I’ve seen that were up for awards were The Duchess and Kung Fu Panda, both from in-flight entertainment.

By the time the Oscar’s had wrapped up, I was hungry again!  Teaches me to stay up past me bedtime…  So I had a delighful Kashi Cherry Dark Chocolate bar (that only had one lonesome cherry on it)  before hitting the sack.

2009_02_23_bar

Several hours later, I got up to head back to work for the week.  But first, I enjoyed a wonderful bowl of steel cut oats. I usually cook up enough for the week and seperate them into individual containers on the weekend.  This bowl contains oats cooked in water, mixed with a spoonful of homemade mascarpone brown sugar ice cream, and topped with strawberry slices, chopped almonds and the other half of yesterday’s Carrot Cake Clif bar.

2009_02_23_oatmeal

This was the first time I’ve added a bar to oatmeal and I quite enjoyed the sweet, chewy chunks in my bowl, no wonder I see so many others doing it.

For lunch I brought with me the rest of the sweet potato (unglazed this time), baked striped bass, and juicy sweet peas frozen from my parents’ garden last summer, delish.

2009_02_23_lunch

Afternoon snacking consisted of more strawberries (they’re so good!), a Gala apple, and a Minneola orange.

2009_02_23_fruit

For dinner now I’m having a big bowl of green beans (also from frozen from my parents’ garden) tossed with more goddess, and some pork tenderloin.

2009_02_23_beans

Dessert is some decadent dates dipped in peanut hazelnut butter, and a square of Cocoa Camino Mint Dark Chocolate.

2009_02_23_dessert

Yummy.

 

Leave a Reply

