Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

One colour at a time… February 24, 2009

I’ve been having some very monochrome meals today…

To start off was breakfast, a berry blue bowl of oats (hehe…I like alliteration).  Last night I got everything ready for quick morning assemblage.  In the appropriately coloured vessel went steel cut oats cooked with water, a Blueberry Delight Mott’s Unsweetened applesauce, dried blueberries, some Nature’s Path Blueberry Almond Muesli, ground flaxseed, a touch of cinnamon, and the last few lonely blueberries I bought over a week ago.

2009_02_24_breakfast

After getting up I happily dug into this mountain.

2009_02_24_oatmeal

After mixing.

2009_02_24_mixed

And by the time I had finished breakfast and was about to head out the door, the sun had risen!  Please excuse the very dirty windows, I can’t clean the outsides…

2009_02_24_sunrise

For lunch the theme was green.  Crisp creamy wraps made of red leaf lettuce, avocado, and pork tenderloin sprinkled with barbeque salt.

2009_02_24_assembly

Six times over.

2009_02_24_lunch1

Snacks were a sea of red and orange, starting out with cute mini bell peppers stuffed with roasted garlic hummus.

2009_02_24_peppers

I also packed up a Cameo apple, and crunchy carrot slices.

2009_02_24_lunch2

Amazingly enough, the sun was still out when I got home too!

2009_02_24_sunset

For dinner I made myself my favourite pasta dish, mushrooms, onion and collard greens sauteed in olive oil and balsamic vinegar and mixed with Eden Organics Kamut Spirals.  And for something new, I topped the plate with some lovely goat cheese, an excellent addition.  I’d say this plate was relatively brown…

2009_02_24_pasta

Now I’m going to relax with a cupful of grapes (red/purple!) and a book for the rest of the evening.

2009_02_24_grapes

 

Leave a Reply

