Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Rainy Friday… February 27, 2009

The daily oats were served on a bed of mashed banana and sprinkled with the rest of the Cashew Cookie Larabar, and served with a spoonful of Peanut Hazelnut Butter. I did like the bar better in the oats, not much different than if I had added nuts myself (though that is the point, is it not?)

2009_02_27_oatmeal

Mid morning I had a golden delicious apple.

2009_02_27_apple

The apple slices were packed on top of part of my lunch, more collard fish rolls, yum. These wraps were stuffed with a can of sardines and topped with liberal amounts of honey mustard.  Tasty oily fish goodness.

2009_02_27_sardine

I also had some steamed broccoli and carrot slices with hummus, and some juicy grapes.

2009_02_27_lunch

Later in the afternoon, I broke out a container of Nature’s Path Optimum Rebound cereal. Because freeze dried bananas = good snacking.

2009_02_27_cereal

When I got home I felt like soup so I took out a neat package of soup mix I bought a while ago to make a pot.

2009_02_27_package

The mix comes in a sleeve with green and yellow split peas, barley, lima beans, alphabet pasta, and some dried mushrooms and other veggies.  I though it was rather cute.

2009_02_27_beans

Unfortunately, the soup is simple and cute, but not very fast, it needs to simmer for a couple hours.  So in the meantime I’ m having some of the very few fridge ingredients remaining, a carrot with hummus and more grapes.

2009_02_27_snack

Tomorrow is definately going to include grocery shopping.  And I’ll get a picture of the finished soup too since there is plenty for leftovers.  The kitchen is starting to smell nice though, I love split pea soup…

 

One Response to “Rainy Friday…”

  1. Thanks for commenting on my blog.

    I hope your soup turns out well!


Leave a Reply

