Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Dessert for breakfast February 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — plentifulplants @ 2:41 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It’s really sunny out, but quite cold this morning.  But I went out shopping anyway, because that’s how it’s supposed to be all weekend.  Before heading out, I made some amazing oats for breakfast using an ingredient I’ve been wanting to try out ever since I found it a few weeks ago, but felt it warrants a special occasion.  Unsweetened Chocolate Almond Breeze.  I buy the Vanilla version all the time, but stores around here don’t seem to carry the unsweetened chocolate variety.  So when I saw it at an out of the way bulk food store, I of course had to buy a box.

2009_02_28_breakfast

My lovely bowl of oats includes 1/3 cup oatmeal cooked in 3/4 cups Unsweetened Chocolate Almond Breeze, a small banana, and a sprinkling of chocolate chips and chopped dried cherries.  A decadent dessert for breakfast.  And it was perfect fuel for a morning in -16 degree wind chill shopping.

2009_02_28_oatmeal

Interested in what I bought?  Well I’ll show you anyway.

2009_02_28_grocery1

2009_02_28_grocery2

That haul cost about $31.  The freshly spritzed swiss chard may have soaked a corner of the egg carton on the way home.  I’m excited the try the oat bran since so many people are loving it.   And the artichokes are exciting too since I’ve never made them before myself.   I also got something that is not at all ugli, it’s just uniq.

2009_02_28_uniq

Then, for lunch I sauteed some collard greens with red pepper, herbs, and white wine, fried an egg, and plated every thing up with something tasty that gets its own post.

2009_02_28_veggies

 

One Response to “Dessert for breakfast”

  1. Annie Says:

    1. those lemons are a good deal!!!
    2. i’ve tried the chocolate almond breeze before and i thought it was unpleasantly salty. what do you think?

    then again, i was drinking it straight.

    Annie


Leave a Reply

