Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

My first BSI: Black Bean Pasta February 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — plentifulplants @ 3:50 pm
Tags:

So this week we have my first attempt at a BSI.   Personally I think the final product was quite tasty, and it contains plenty of black beans, if somewhat unrecognizable in form.

I’ve seen soybean pasta in the store before (along with rice, quinoa, and other pastas) and have always wondered how many different things could be made into pasta.  Same thing with the many different varieties of milk floating around.  When I saw this weeks BSI was black beans, I figured beans are mainly carbohydrates…pastas are mainly carbohydrates…let’s give it a whirl…literally.

The recipe is simple, for each serving add 25 g each dried black beans and whole wheat flour.  This works out to 2 T dry beans or 1/3 cup canned/boiled beans and 3 T flour.  If you start out with dry beans, boil them before continuing.

2009_02_28_ingredients

I threw two servings worth of ingredients into my food processor (50 g flour and 50 g dry, 120 g after cooking black beans), and whirled them until the beans were pulverized.  The mix was quite crumbly and fluffy, but stuck together when squeezed.   I dumped the mix onto the counter, kneaded it together into a ball, and rolled it out.

2009_02_28_rolled

I’m not afraid to admit what I used as a rolling pin.  It’s been hanging out in the fridge since we opened it for a dinner party three months ago.  The wine was really good but neither my roomie nor I bother much with drinking, and we never remember to use it for cooking, at least not until now….

2009_02_28_wine

Anyway, back to the recipe.  I rolled the pasta dough out as thinly as I could (~1/8 inch, 2 mm) and trimmed it into a rectangle (I cut way half the dough, so there was one serving left).

2009_02_28_filling

I added a few dobs of goat cheese, and proceded to make ravioli.

2009_02_28_folded

2009_02_28_ravioli

Which I then boiled for five minutes before adding to my lunch.

2009_02_28_lunch

They were very tasty, I only wish I could have rolled the dough more thinly since the double layers at the edges of the ravioli ended up being quite thick, despite flattening with a fork.

I’m guessing the rest of the pasta dough is going to turn into noodles and get mexican type toppings.

And the nutritionals are awesome too!  Each serving  of pasta (~ 3 oz cooked) has 170 cals, 1 g fat, 9 g protein, 9 g fiber.

So I hope you enjoy the recipe.  I think I might try it again with other beans/flours too.  I could get some awesome results….

 

3 Responses to “My first BSI: Black Bean Pasta”

  1. […] Plants: Black Bean Pasta Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Freezer Menu – Black BeansAfter lunchSimple […]

  2. Hallie Says:

    So creative! I’ve never made pasta before. It looks so easy, yet difficult at the same time.

    Love your blog!

  3. biz319 Says:

    Wow – how very creative of you! Looks like a winner to me!

    i don’t have a pasta roller either, but I do have a rolling pin – which helps! 😀


Leave a Reply

