Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Very veggie March 4, 2009

Today I was craving fruits and veggies in abundance, so what you are about to see is very true to the Plentiful Plants name.

Well, aside from breakfast….

I broke into a new container of yogurt for some calcium goodness this morning, mixing some plain nonfat with spoonfuls of (melted) mascarpone brown sugar ice cream and homemade/grown black current jelly. The very tasty yogurt found itself in a breakfast parfait layered with Kashi GoLean.

2009_03_04_parfait

2009_03_04_mixed

Then the parade of fruits and veggies started.

Late morning/early lunch I happily dug into sweet strawberries and juicy, flavourful honeydew melon.

2009_03_04_fruit

A big container of veggies found themselves in my bag for a late lunch. In the mix is red pepper, carrot, cucumber, celery, and quite a lot of edamame (I wanted to finish the bag in the freezer). There was also some hummus involved for dipping.

2009_03_04_veggies

2009_03_04_hummus

Before leaving work I ate one square of an Elevate Me! All Fruit Original Bar.  This is pretty close to my favourite flavour of these bars, and I was particularly pleased with a large chunk of apple I found in my piece.

2009_03_04_bar

Dinner started off with a green monster!  It may not be standard dinner fair, but I’ve been seeing Angela’s creations on Oh She Glows, among others, and have been wanting one, but I can’t make them in the morning lest I wake my roomie with the blender. Luckily it made a lovely addition to my dinner, I’m quite proud of my first attempt at a green smoothie. The monster contains the rest of the swiss chard (~2 cups), thawed frozen asparagus (~1/2 cup), unsweetened vanilla almond breeze (~1 cup), frozen mango chunks (~1 cup), and some sad old grapes (~/34 cup) from the back of the shelf. Quite a delicious way to clean out bits and pieces from the fridge.  I ended up with 1.5 glasses of the stuff

2009_03_04_monster

2009_03_04_green

Next I dug into some thing new. New as in I’ve never cooked them myself before, but have enjoyed them a couple times in the past. I steamed three small artichokes and ate them dipped in a mixture of tahini and fresh squeezed lemon juice. They were so good! I must start buying these more often/ever. And they’re really simple to cook too, I just cut off the stems and steamed them for ~20 minutes (and no, I didn’t eat the choke).

2009_03_04_artichokes

I made my roomie try the Monster, and he liked it too…though he said it tasted very green to him.  I just think it tasted mango-y with a nice earthy finish. Yum.

 

One Response to “Very veggie”

  1. Angela Says:

    FANTASTIC!!! So happy you enjoyed it! 😀


Leave a Reply

