Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Birthdays all around… March 5, 2009

It was a slow day at work today, all the junior type people were waiting for further instructions on various projects from the senior type people, who were busy in meetings and on the phones trying to come up with things for us to do. So I amused myself by reading up on the various news articles about the city that have been published recently to celebrate that fact that tomorrow is Toronto’s 175th birthday! These pictures were particularly interesting.

Any way, I really like yesterday’s breakfast parfait, so I continued the trend this morning with a mixture of Kashi Honey Almond Flax cereal and Seven Whole Grain Puffs, topped with plain yogurt mixed with a bit of melted mascarpone brown sugar ice cream. A nice crunchy breakfast.

2009_03_05_breakfast

Lunch time featured sandwich made of pizza crust flatbread, Big Bull Steak Sauce, red pepper, and two fried eggs.

2009_03_05_sandwich

The tasty sandwich was accompanied by a sweet organic carrot. I also brought along some fruit, honeydew melon, red delicious apple, and ugli fruit (aka Jamaican tangelo).

2009_03_05_fruit

I’ve never had an ugli fruit before…it was good, but not spectacularly wonderful, given the price (1.29 for one) I probably won’t bother buying it again. It tasted like a less sweet, not particularly flavourful orange (but definitely not sour). It did get points for being very juicy.

2009_03_05_ugli

Home time finally came around, and after the commute I set to work preparing dinner. I stir fried some freezer veggies with a bit of teriyaki sauce  and tossed in a can of tuna for a tasty bowl of goodness. In the mix went Europe’s Best Romanesco Concerto mix, corn,  homegrown wax beans, fresh sqeezed lemon juice, Kikkoman low sodium teriyaki sauce, and albacore tuna.   The freezer is starting to look pleasantly roomy too, which is good news because there’s something I’ve been wanting to buy that requires some ice cold real estate.

2009_03_05_stirfry

I topped off the day’s eats with a decadent dessert of dates stuffed with raw almond butter.

2009_03_05_dates

Now I must go call my family to wish my dad happy birthday!

 

Leave a Reply

