Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

El pot o’ Chili March 8, 2009

This morning started out with a delicious bowl of oat bran.  I’ve been missing my oats… I cooked the oat bran with water and lots of cinnamon, then topped them with half a banana, flaxseed, dried blueberries (yum!) and some cashew pieces.

2009_03_08_breakfast

I also enjoyed a cup of tea with a splash of unsweetened vanilla almond breeze

2009_03_08_tea

All morning there were beans boiling on the stove and towards lunch time I started putting together a big pot of chili for the week.  It was going to be my lunch, but then I was invited out to The Dumpling House in Chinatown.   I do love dumplings, and I couldn’t go home for chinese new year’s, so I missed my mom’s last month, so I went.  No pictures, but I had 8 dumplings with a variety of fillings, the two best being pork with chive and spinach with shitake mushroom.  I also had a spoonful of fried rice, and a spoonful of tasty noodles in hoisin sauce.

We sent to afternoon walking around chinatown and kensington, and when I got home I was hungry for a snack so I had a grapefruit, after a bit of a struggle pulling apart the segments.

2009_03_08_grapefruit

I also stuck a trayful of stuff in the oven to cook, including an entire head of garlic that I used to make some awesome hummus!  I think it’s amazing because I used roasted almond butter instead of tahini, along with the usual juice from one lemon, and head of roasted garlic!  It goes really well with celery.  I also snacked on a bit of freshly baked sweet potato.

2009_03_08_potato

Dinner time rolled around and I made up a plateful of chili (you’re going to see a lot of it this week), a hunk of sweet potato topped with some delicious old cheddar my friend picked up in Kensington, a pile of old looking celery sticks, and a dollop of roasty hummus.

2009_03_08_supper

That pot of chili included most of a head of cauliflower, onions (well caramelized with a bit of olive oil), carrots, corn, frozen lima beans, dry kidney, pinto and black beans, TVP, a can of diced tomatoes, a can of tomato paste, a little chili powder, and lots of massamun curry paste.

Now I must go clean up the kitchen a bit, pack a lunch for tomorrow, and watch some Amazing Race and Desperate Housewives before bed.

 

Leave a comment