Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Mighty Green Mango March 10, 2009

This morning started off with a wonderful bowlful of oat bran.  I mixed in a spoonful of mascarpone ice cream, and sprinkled the oats with a handful of President’s Choice Berry Blend Sweetened Dried Fruit, and half a Ruth’s Hemp Power Chocolate Raspberry bar.

2009_03_10_toppings

The dried berries (cranberries, cherries, and blueberries) were given to me, I probably wouldn’t have bought them myself given that they’re sweetened with sugar and corn syrup, but I’m glad I tried them because they are really good, nice and plump with lots of blueberries.  Though, I’m still not likely to buy them next time I run out of dried fruit….

The bar was really good too.  It has a nice raspberry flavour, and the chocolate wasn’t too overpowering (it’s not dark chocolate).  And there are nice big pieces of nuts.  The texture is like a typical granola bar.

2009_03_10_oatmeal

Through the morning I sipped on Breakfast part 2, the other half of last night’s spinach/collard/mango/banana green monster.  I am pleased to report it held up quite well in the fridge overnight.  I detected no difference (though I’m not really sure why I thought there would be).

2009_03_10_monster

For lunch and snacks, I brought along an apple with black berries, a container of celery, carrot, and grape tomatos, some hummus, and chili.

2009_03_10_veggies

2009_03_10_fruit

2009_03_10_lunch

I wasn’t really feeling the chili once I got around to lunch at work, so I ate the other stuff, and before leaving I dug out the last 2/3rds of an All Fruit Original Elevate Me! bar which I munched on while walking to the bus stop.  Here’s the evidence.

2009_03_10_bar

Come dinner time I didn’t really know what I wanted so I figured I might as well finish my lunch.  I also had two broken up whole wheat matzo crackers for chili dipping.

2009_03_10_dinner

Now to come up with something for tomorrow’s lunch…I’m thinking not chili…

 

Leave a Reply

