Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Happy (Strawberry) Pi Day! March 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — plentifulplants @ 5:46 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

This morning I had a lovely time sleeping in, finally catching up on that hour lost last weekend, before getting myself up and running some errands.  On the way home I stopped by Starbucks to redeem a coupon I’ve been carrying around for a while since finding it in my mailbox.

2009_03_14_perfect

What a lot of packaging….

My Perfect Oatmeal was surprisingly good, I wouldn’t start buying it on a regular basis at 3 or 4 dollars a bowl (I didn’t really pay attention), but it’s nice to know it exists if I ever need something to eat and have no better options.  I do have another coupon that expires in April, so I will definitely be getting it  again sometime soon.  I used half of each topping packet, both the nuts and berries were really nice, but the brown sugar was one hard lump.

2009_03_14_oatmeal

I had breakfast quite late so lunch was light but tasty.  I threw some broccoli slaw, enoki mushrooms, and a bit of roasted chicken breast into the wok with a little teriyaki sauce and water to encourage steaming.

2009_03_14_lunch

I also had a steaming cup of Stash organic black and green Earl Grey Tea, really nice!  And a handful of almonds.

2009_03_14_tea

And now the exciting bit.  I’m a geek, and I like to celebrate the fact that today is Pi Day (3.14, think about it), so I knew that this weekend I wanted to make a pie.  I couldn’t decide what to put in my pie, until I remembered to check out this week’s BSI.  Strawberry pie? Yes, please! I have a good kitchen scale, so I tend to weigh my ingredients, but the volumes should be the same, I was checking as I went along.

The Crust:

1/3 cup quick oats (40 g)
2 tbsp whole wheat flour (15 g)
2 tbsp almonds (12 g)
2 tsp sucanat, or brown sugar (6 g)
1/8 tsp salt
1 tbsp almond oil, or vegetable oil (15 g)
1 tbsp water (15 g)

Throw everything except the oil and water into a food processor, and blend until the almonds are ground.

Whisk together water and oil until relatively uniform, and add to food processor, blend until combined, the dough will be crumbly but holds together when squeezed.

This gave me enough dough to cover two 6 inch pie plates, it should be enough to cover a regular size 8 inch pie plate (A=πr2, A(2x6inch)=56.4 in2, A(8inch)=50.3 in2). Sorry.

Bake the shells for ~10 minutes at 400 degrees, until golden, and let cool.

2009_03_14_crust

That picture was taken before baking.

When I was making the crust, I also sliced the strawberries and tossed them with sugar to let the juice come out, and started draining the yogurt.

2009_03_14_strawberries

2009_03_14_yogurt

A few hours later, I started on the filling:

1.5 tblsp sucanat, or brown sugar (13 g)
1.5 cups sliced strawberries (220 g)
1/2 cup plain nonfat greek yogurt, or drain 3/4 cup regular yogurt (Canada = no nonfat greek yogurt)
2 tbsp gelatin powder (14 g, the plain, unflavoured/sweetened kind)
1/2 cup water
2 tbsp strawberry jam

First I boiled the water,  dissolved the gelatin, and let the mix cool a bit.

Then I mixed everything except the jam, and two tablespoons of the gelatin water together.  And divided the mixture between the two pie crusts.

I reheated the 2 tbsp of gelatin water with the jam until they melted together, and drizzled it over the two pies.

Then refrigerated the pies for a couple hours until set.

2009_03_14_whole-pie

At which point I happily enjoyed a piece for a snack (1/4 pie, or 1/8 of the recipe is about 100 calories!)

2009_03_14_pie1

2009_03_14_pie2

I’m really pleased how this turned out, it’s just sweet enough, not tart at all from the yogurt, and the almondy crust works really well with the berries.  The jam drizzle looks nice, but doesn’t taste very strong, and I think the pie is already quite pretty, so I’ll either skip it next time, or add more jam for extra flavour impact.

2009_03_14_pie3

 

2 Responses to “Happy (Strawberry) Pi Day!”

  1. Christina Says:

    mmm that crust looks and sounds delicious!

  2. Spiceaholic Says:

    Yum! Great entry!


Leave a Reply

