Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Some expensive yogurt…. March 15, 2009

This beautiful, relatively warm morning started out with a bowlful of oat bran, topped with the left over starbucks toppings and a few extra cashew pieces.

2009_03_15_breakfast

I went on some morning adventures, were two things of note happened.  First, I discovered I need to buy a spring coat.  My winter coat was a bit too warm, and my old light coat is ridiculously large, which is a good thing, kind of a jarring reminder of how much smaller I am compared to a year ago, or even from last fall.

Second thing, I went to Pusateri’s for the first time.  It’s a small, super high end grocery store in Yorkville.  I’ve been curious about it for a while, but figured it would just be super expensive tings I wasn’t really interested like gourmet oils and vinegars and coffees.  Which it was in a way.  But the reason I finally went in is that I recieved a hot tip from a coworker that they carry non/low-fat greek yogurt.  And they do.  I was excited.  Though it was ridiculously expensive, so I limited my self to only 2 containers.  A 6oz Stoneyfield Farm Oikos with honey at $3.99 and a 6oz Vanilla Chobani and $3.39.  Yeah, expensive.  But worth it for an occasional treat.

2009_03_15_yogurt

I ate the Chobani for a snack this afternoon.  It’s so good!  I’ve had Fage yogurt before , 0 and 2% (I might have smuggled three 500g containers home from my Christmas vacation in London, and enjoyed some while in the UK), and I’ve had the full 10% fat greek yogurt that is available in Canada.  Upon tasting the Chobani, a) it’s better than Fage, creamier and less tart (though this might be because it was sweetened), and b) why even bother with the full fat stuff at all?, Chobani 0% is just as good.  I thoroughly enjoyed the yogurt with some strawberries.

2009_03_15_strawberry

Backtracking to lunch, I had a romaine salad topped with chili, and some deliciously flavourful Vintage Reserve Cheddar I found in the bits and pieces basket at Whole Foods.

2009_03_15_lunch

Late in the afternoon I snacked on a banana.

2009_03_15_banana

For dinner, I trid something new.  I tossed some cauliflower with a bit of of oil and lots of Indian Masala seasoning, and roasted it. Simple, but it turned out wonderfully delicious.  I ate that along with some roasted chicken breast and a blob of hummus.

2009_03_15_supper

And dessert was perhaps unsurprisingly, not one but TWO slices of strawberry pie.  I did get the roomie to eat half a pie too, and he gave it two thumbs up so it should disappear soon enough.

2009_03_15_pie

And I might be munching on a handful of crunchy FoodShouldTasteGood Chocolate chips right now, but the camera won’t confirm that.

 

3 Responses to “Some expensive yogurt….”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Whoa, that is expensive yogurt. I wanted to try chobani, but can’t seem to find it in Canada where I am. But I’m loving the plain yogurt just fine, I guess. =D

  2. Kristie Says:

    I’m a little bit jealous that you were able to find those yogurts in Canada. Then again, if I stumbled across them at THOSE prices I don’t know if I’d be willing to fork out the money! Okay, I probably would for the opportunity to FINALLY get to try them, but that’s seriously ridiculous. Canada needs to get with the Greek yogurt trend and start stocking us properly!

    I want to devour that strawberry pie right about now.

  3. Blissy Says:

    Hi Ruth,

    Have been reading your blog for some time now but never commented before. I’m so impressed by your weight loss and love your blog.
    If possible, would you please do a post with some guidelines on (your) weight loss or maybe send me an email with some tips?
    Having struggled with being overweight all my life I could really use some (honest) guidance and you truly are a rolemodel.

    Wishing you all the best.

    Many thanks,
    Blissy
    The Netherlands


Leave a Reply

