Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

What begins and ends with yogurt? March 18, 2009

This weekend I had an odd craving for fruit salad.  The canned kind with bright red cherries.  So I ventured down the appropriate isle in the supermarket to check out the offerings.  I was quite pleased to find some good old Del Monte packed in fruit juice, so I bought a can.  This morning I incorporated the fruity treat into a breakfast parfait inspired by Caroline at The Broccoli Hut.  I filled up a glass with layers of fruit salad, Mapleton’s Organics plain nonfat yogurt, and some delicious Grandma Emily’s Blueberry Cranberry Granola.

2009_03_18_brekkie

And I grabbed a handful of almonds before heading out the door.

2009_03_18_almonds

I was going to bring the last of the chili to work with me, but when I opened the container I discovered mold growing along the egde.  Ewwww!  So instead, I chopped up some veggies and hummus.  There were white, orange, and purple carrots, grape tomatoes, cucmber, and a piece of sweet potato.

2009_03_18_carrots

2009_03_18_cucs

2009_03_18_sweet

2009_03_18_hummus

For snacks I brought a juicy sliced Lady Alice apple (new to me variety, very tasty), a blood orange, and some delicious figs.  I love  fresh figs.

2009_03_18_apple

2009_03_18_fig

For dinner I fixed a pseudo-sloppy joe.  Between two slices of toasted Ezekiel bread I sandwiched some Yves Italian Veggie Ground Round, cucumber slices, and lots of ketchup.  Yummy.  The sandwich was paired with a heap of steamed broccoli topped with honey mustard.

2009_03_18_dinner

And finally for dessert I had my precious container of Oikos Honey Greek Yogurt.  Mmmmmm.  Based on the single flavour from each brand that I tried I’m going to have to say I like the Oikos better than Chobani.  Of course it has to be the more expensive one.

2009_03_18_yogurt

2009_03_18_greek

Now could the Canadian grocers jump on the not-ridiculously-expensive non/low fat greek yogurt bandwagon, please and thank you?  Seriously, it shouldn’t be that difficult, considering regular Stonyfield Farm products are relatively easy to come by, you’re already dealing with the same company.

 

One Response to “What begins and ends with yogurt?”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Haha, totally love the ample amounts of yogurt. My love.


Leave a Reply

