Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Layers of ‘Liciousness March 19, 2009

This morning started out with a wonderfully crunchy bowl of Kashi GoLean cereal with a banana, cinnamon, raisins, and unsweetened vanilla almond breeze.  The rest of the banana is hiding under the cereal.

2009_03_19_breakfast

Later in the morning I munched on a tasty Ruth’s Lemon Hazelnut Maca Power bar.  This bar is really good, it’s more pineapple hazelnut than lemon with big pieces of dried pineapple and plentiful nuts, and I love the chewyness of the hempseeds.  It’s a really good flavour combination that I haven’t seen anywhere else.

2009_03_19_bar

For lunch I dug into a container of sweet potato (the skin is hiding underneath), Yves Italian Veggie Ground Round, lentils, cucumber, and Big Bull steak sauce.  I mixed everything up before eating it, and it was delicious, sweet and savoury at the same time.

2009_03_19_lunch

Then for a snack I had strawberries and yogurt, a wonderfully simple combination.

2009_03_19_yogurt

And finally for dinner I had a heaping plate of layers.  Starting from the bottom is onions and mushrooms caramelized  in olive oil and thyme, quinoa, steamed broccoli slaw, sole, and a topping of whole grain dijon mustard and a bit of parmesan cheese.  A lot of flavours again, but the end product was scrumptious (to borrow a word from the delightful Sharon)!

2009_03_19_dinner

Now I’m finishing the night with the rest of the fruit salad.

2009_03_19_fruit1

 

One Response to “Layers of ‘Liciousness”

  1. Sharon Says:

    SCRUMPTIOUS!! -lol- Totally love your eats! Hahah!
    I’m totally jealous of your quinoa though. Seriously, so sad, but I think the demographics in my area that I am living in doesn’t like quinoa or tempeh. I can’t find either anywhere. Booo.


Leave a Reply

