Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Skule Nite! March 21, 2009

2009_03_21_laugh

Today was a good fun and laughs with friends kind of day.

I started out with a big fruity breakfast bowl of oat bran.  I cooked the bran in Celestial Seasonings Contry Peach Passion Tea with a banana, then topped the bowl with dried cherries, a medjool date, a few walnuts, and some pistachios.  Delicious.

2009_03_21_breakfast

I also drank the rest of the peach tea, and some earl grey, with a variety of dishes.

2009_03_21_tea

I spent the afternoon seeing Skule Nite with friends, which is an awesomely hilarious musical/sketch comedy show put on every year by UofT engineers (and others) about engineering life and pop culture in general.

2009_03_21_prog

Before I left, I wasn’t hungry for lunch but I knew dinner was a long way off so I snacked on a carrot covered in tasty sunflower seed butter.

2009_03_21_carrot

I also grabbed an Apple Pie Larabar to have at intermission.  I found a Larabar flavour I like, in fact I really like it!  I’m a sucker for sales, and I think the issues I had with the larabars I had tried before were that the flavours were too simple, I could get the same effect with a date and few nuts.  So when I saw them on sale a while ago I decided to give them one more chance, and bought a handful of bars with more unique flavours and spicing in them than the cashew cookie and banana bread I had tried before.  Apple Pie = a success.  There will be more to come.

2009_03_21_larabar

We headed out to dinner after the show at Vegetarian Haven. I got the grilled seitan burger, it was delicious and enormous!  Here’s a picture of the half of the burger I took home.  The patty is about an inch thick, I plan to cut it half and make a whole new burger out of it.  The burger is on a nice herby bun with alfalfa sprouts, lettuce, cucumber, tomato, and grilled eggplant, peppers and zucchini.  And it came with a side salad topped with raw peppers, zucchini, mushrooms, and a very fragrant rosemary olive oil vinagrette.  There were also blue corn tortilla chips (which hid at the bottom of the box), but I don’t really like those.

2009_03_21_burger

It felt odd but good getting a lot of compliments today.  I saw a lot of people who haven’t seen me since the end of last school year (aka about 90 pounds ago) and I got a few “Wow, you lot good”s.  I’ve never really been complimented on how I look before, and especially coming from a bunch of 21/2/3 year olds who don’t normally talk about anyone’s weight/appearance, it was a nice feeling.  I have started getting comments from the secretaries at work, but they go about it like they’re looking more for advice, and always seem disappointed that I don’t offer a quick faddy fix, just excersize and counting calories.  It just feels different coming for someone you’re own age (guys even) than someone 20 years older, I kinda like it.

 

2 Responses to “Skule Nite!”

  1. Christina Says:

    Interesting! Never tried carrot with sunflower seed butter – usually only eat that w/ fruit. I’ll have to give it a try.

    BSI deadline is tomorrow! Thought I’d remind you about it, since you mentioned you’d had cabbage twice this past week!! 🙂 You could submit either of those recipes, if you wanted – it doesn’t need to be a new creation. I already have a submission back from March 6!

  2. Sharon Says:

    Haha, love the way you enjoyed that carrot~
    And ahaha, I’m hungry. =D


Leave a Reply

