Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

BSI Eggs: Not-Your-Normal Egg Roll March 24, 2009

Time for another BSI entry so soon?  We’ll get to that later.

This morning I came with with a delicious creation with my serving of slowcooked steel cut oats.  I made my version of apple pie oatmeal.  In the mix is the oatmeal, a small chopped red delicious apple, a spoonful of homemade mascarpone brown sugar ice cream for extra sweetness, and copious amounts of pumpkin pie spice.  I stirred that all up with a heaping spoon of ground flax, then topped the bowl with nice plump raisins, crunchy pumpkin seeds, and a spoonful of amazing roasted almond butter.  Yum!  I would usually have mixed in all the toppings, but for once I decided to pick up spoonfuls of oatmeal and dip each bite in the almond butter.  Amazing!  You can taste the nuttyness so much more this way, I dont think I’m ever going to mix in my nut butters again!

2009_03_24_oatmeal

I managed to fill my fridge with an abundance of tasty fresh produce this weekend, and my lunch reflects some of the offerings.  I brought to work with me a veggie container packed with a carrot, yellow and orange peppers, grape tomatoes, cucumber, and steamed broccoli.

2009_03_24_veggies

And I brought along a whole wheat english muffin filled with flavourful emmental cheese and ketchup (which I nuked a bit before eating to get nice and melty).

2009_03_24_sandwich

There was a also fruit container filled with a sweet, juicy minneola orange, mango, grapes, and strawberries. Although I only ate the orange at work, and apparently I never managed to take a picture of this container, oops. I’m sure you can imagine what an orange looks like, now add a knobby thing on top of it and you’ve got a minneola.

For dinner I decided to make something with the carton of egg whites hanging out in the fridge, something worthy of being my BSI entry thanks to Mark over at Training Feul’s brilliant choice of eggs (the whites count, right?)!

I was also looking for a fun excuse to make more of the wonderful lentil mixture I discovered yesterday, besides cut avocados don’t last long anyway. The answer was a wrap!

The recipe is simple enough, 3 egg whites (I measured 100g), and a little bit of oil on the pan to allow a crust to form (you need this even for a non-stick pan in my experience). All you do is lube up the pan (I used less than half a teaspoon of oil), get it hot, and pour in the egg whites. Then don’t touch them until they’re fully set and the bottom is nicely browned. With minimal pan shaking or prodding with a spatula you should end up with tasty wrapper ready for filling. The only trick is to use a big enough pan that the whites can spread out thin enough to be flexible for wrapping afterwards, and let it cool a bit before wrapping so it doesn’t tear easily/burn your fingers.

2009_03_24_pan

I filled my egg wrapper with spinach and lentil/yves italian veggie ground round/avocado/Big Bull steak sauce mixture and rolled the whole thing up.

2009_03_24_filling

2009_03_24_wrap

This made for a lovely dinner paired with the rest of the fruit I didn’t eat at work. The mango (ataulfo) was amazing, I’m so glad mango season is starting in Mexico (since I know there’s no way I’m going to get local mangoes in Toronto, global warming’s not that fast)!

2009_03_24_fruit

 

5 Responses to “BSI Eggs: Not-Your-Normal Egg Roll”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Oh wow, what a great idea with the egg whites!! Totally rockin’ with it! love it!

  2. Christina Says:

    FANtastic idea!!! Love the fresh fruit on the side. Mmmm

  3. […] only did Mark at Training Feul choose my egg wrap as last week’s winning recipe (Thanks Mark!), he asked me to be this weeks host. So I got to […]

  4. biz319 Says:

    Great BSI idea! Never thought of that with eggs – great way to get protein in too!

  5. […] actually made a big egg white into a wrap and stuffed it – very clever!!  She’s Ruth over at Plentiful Plants – check out her […]


Leave a Reply

