Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Roasty Toasty March 26, 2009

I got a surprise last night when I checked the mailbox and found a sample of Kaizen whey protein powder I forgot I ordered a while ago.

2009_03_26_powder

I decided to test it our in my oats this morning.  I mixed 1/3 the packet of chocolate powder with a bit of water, then added that to my steel cut oats and topped the bowl with a Banana Bread Elevate Me! bar.  I was going for protein this morning, can you tell?  I tried the protein/water mixture before adding it the the oats, and it tasted really good, like hot chocolate (it’s sweetened with stevia), but unfortunately I couldn’t taste any chocolate at all in the oatmeal.  But I guess adding no flavour is better than adding a bad flavour.  I’ll probably mix the rest of the powder up in some sort of beverage.  I don’t have enough experience with protein powders to make a very good comparison of this powder to others.

2009_03_26_oatmeal

For lunch I happily dug into another huge salad.  This one included romaine, cucumber, yellow and orange pepper, a carrot, and another turkey sausage.  For dressing I brought along some yogurt and Big Bull steak sauce (I think I might be a little obsessed).

2009_03_26_salad

Later in the afternoon I enjoyed a not-so-blood orange.  Seriously, where did all the colour go?  I also had a whole wheat english muffin spread with peanut butter, pumpkin pie spice, and dried cherries.  Dried fruit in PB sandwiches tastes so much better than jam, strong flavour without being too sweet.

2009_03_26_snack

Tonight I tried out some Health Valley Spelt Flakes with Cranberries while waiting for the rest of my dinner to roast in the oven.  I just ate it dry, but it was really good, nice and crunchy.

2009_03_26_cereal

Then I enjoyed a big plate full of roasted cauliflower with Indian Malasa spice, and butternut squash fries with ketchup for dipping.

2009_03_26_dinner

And dessert was a scoop of Haagen Dasz Half Fat Vanilla Ice cream.  Yum.

2009_03_26_cream

 

3 Responses to “Roasty Toasty”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Love your eats – and I love crunchy cereal, yum yum!

  2. Krista Says:

    I like the dried fruit in the sammie idea! Probably a lot better for you than jam!

    • plentifulplants Says:

      One thing’s for sure, it’s a lot better for you than the jam I was going to put on the sandwich. I pulled it out of the fridge and it was all mouldy! And it was almost empty anyway so it ended up down the drain, ewww….


Leave a Reply

