Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Where have all the pictures gone? March 29, 2009

I was a bad food blogger today.  I forgot to grab my camera while in a rush to leave home this morning, and spent the rest of the day eating out without coming back to the apartment to pick it up!

I did manage to snap a photo of my breakfast though (even though the sun was hiding behind rain clouds).  I simply nuked some oat bran with unsweetend vanilla almond breeze and topped the bowl a pinch out of every single bag of nuts and dried fruits (and chocolate chips!) on the shelf.  Let’s call it trail mix, the list is a bit long.  But multiple the amount in the picture by about two, I ate down a layer and added more trail mix, then repeated.  There’s also a sprinkle of raw sucanat around the edge of the bowl and spoonful of sunflower seed butter, which were only on the first layer.  It was one good bowl of oats.

2009_03_29_oatmeal

Before leaving I made a batch of black bean brownies using this recipe as a base and modifying it to look like this.

  • 1 3/4 cups kidney beans, rinsed and drained (since I didn’t have a full 2 cups)
  • 150 g egg whites (4 or 5 whites)
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 tablespoon ground flax
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup sucanat
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda (because apple sauce is acidic)
  • 1/2 cup walnut pieces

2009_03_29_pan

The brownies are quite good, I could tell they had beans in them, but in a good way.  This is coming from a half-asian who likes red bean paste in chinese desserts.  I got the same response from my (non-asian) friends who tried them.  They are quite soft though, I think I might reduce the liquids a bit if/when I make them again.  I cut up the batch into 12 100ish calorie brownies.  And this picture is the reason I forgot my camera, it was in my bag and I took it out to snap the cut brownie before packing them up.

2009_03_29_brownie

Alas, that is the end of the piccies…I went out to lunch at Hank’s Cafe.  Hank’s is the new Jamie Kennedy cafe, basically a replica of Gilead with a cool espresso machine.  It’s right beside the Jamie Kennedy Wine Bar on Church street.  Both cafes have (usually) really good quality soups, salads, sandwiches, and desserts.  Unfortunately the soup of the day, White and Yellow Carrot soup was too salty for me, but one of my friends also got it and loved it.  I should have asked to sample it before ordering, grr…  I have had some incredible soups there before though.  I tried bites of other’s pot roast stew and beet salad, and both were amazing.  I made up for my soup disappointment in the healthiest way possible and got one of the best ever oatmeal raisin cookies for dessert.  But I was most upset I forgot my camera due to my latte.  Which besides tasting amazing (I’m not a huge coffee drinker, and this had absolutely no need for sugar), was covered in beautiful latte art.  Two of the best baristas in Canada work at Hank’s and while neither were working at lunch today, they have taught their peers well and my latte was wonderfully decorated with a lineup of whimsical hearts.  I definately recommend Hank’s (or Gilead) for any one who wants an almost garanteed delicious, fast lunch in downtown Toronto (just ask to sample the soup first!, but the sandwichs (espcially mushroom) and baked goods are sure bets).  Cheap too, you can easily eat for less than $10.

I spent the afternoon playing Settlers of Catan and Wii at a friend’s gathering and we all dug into a potluck dinner.  I brought the rest of my foccacia and the brownies.  I tried a piece of Cuban fried plantain/milk fritter thing (I forget what it’s called) and some veggies with roasted red pepper hummus for apps.  For the main course I had some roasted chicken and portobella mushroom, and greek salad with amazing feta (minus the olives for me, can’t make myself like those things despite trying several times, including in spain).  And dessert was a black bean brownie with a scoop of vanilla froyo.  So many sweets today!

And to make up for a lack of pictures today, I’ll add this, another one of my roomie’s orchids.

2009_03_28_orchid1

And don’t forget to head over the Strawberry Shortcake for a Simply awesome 100th post celebration giveaway!

Now I should head to bed so I can get up to head to work in six hours.  And I have some exciting news for tomorrow that requires a decision I need to sleep on…

 

2 Responses to “Where have all the pictures gone?”

  1. Krista Says:

    The oat bran looks fabulous, but I was most taken with those BROWNIES! Holy crap do they EVER look tasty! I may just have to try them out myself! 🙂


Leave a Reply

