Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Dillicious April 1, 2009

I felt like switching things up a bit today and had snack type food for breakfast, and breakfast type food for snack.  Which means I started off the morning with a banana spread with sunflower seed butter and an apple.

2009_03_31_banana

2009_03_31_apple

Late in the morning I had a seitan burger, green pepper, and a carrot.  The steak sauce in the picture I used for dipping my lunch

2009_03_31_seitan

For lunch I did a complete repeat of last night’s dinner.  More butternut squash fries, sliced zucchini, and roasted chicken breast.  That is one good meal.  Am I weird in that I usually hate cooked zucchini but love it raw?  It just gets so mushy when it’s cooked.

2009_03_31_lunch

My afternoon snack was some Dorset Cereals Fruits, Nuts, and Seeds cereal.

2009_03_31_cereal

Dorset cereals have been gazing at me from the grocery store shelves, longing for me to pick them up for years now.  But for some reason I never did.  I don’t know why, this one is pretty awesome and I don’t see how any of the other flavours could go wrong.  I think that might be one of the problems, too many awesome sounding flavours and I could never decide which one to try first.

2009_03_31_front

All the cereals are packed with dried fruits, nuts and seeds (30-60% depending on the flavour) along with rolled grains and flakey bits.  The thing that provoked me to finally buy a box is that the Fruits, Nuts and Seeds variety now contains pumpkin seeds.  I love pumpkin seeds.  And I’m so glad I did because this cereal is seriously good, you can tell all the add-ins are seriously high quality (and chilean flame raisins are incredible!). I also like that there is no extra sugar added (besides the sweetened banana chips) and I’d like to try cooking this up like oatmeal. I think next time I should try a berry heavy variety….

2009_03_31_back

When I got home all I wanted was pickles.  I figure that wouldn’t make much of a dinner, so I filled the meal out with a romaine heart with some caesar dressing, and plate of Mary’s Herb crackers and cheddar cheese.

2009_03_31_salad

2009_03_31_crackers

My roomie introduced me to the pickles and cheese combination years ago, and I must admit, it is oddly addicting.

2009_03_31_dinner

And dinner ended with a sweet dessert of Algerian dates dipped in peanut butter.

2009_03_31_dates

 

One Response to “Dillicious”

  1. Krista Says:

    My hubby LOVES picles and cheese!!! 😉

    I’ve seen that cereal before but have never bought it. Now that I have your word that it’s good, I’ll be getting some!!!! I like the idea of trying it hot like oats…


Leave a Reply

