Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Rain, rain, go away April 3, 2009

Come again on a week night or day?  At least it looks like Saturday afternoon and Sunday will be alright.

Breakfast was a cheerful affair.  I had a slice of Rye bread with muesli spread with peanut butter, a banana, and some clumpy dried blueberries.

2009_04_03_smile

The slice of bread is huge, I cut it into 2.  It has a really strong tangy rye flavour that’s good with something spread on it, but I’m not a hug fan of it plain.  The bread is quite dense and a bit crumbly, it made a good PB&B sandwich for breakfast.

2009_04_03_rye

For lunch I had a head of romaine topped with TVP chili, literally sliced off the block from the freezer.  I’m happy to report the lettuce touching the cold chili did not wilt before the chili melted.

2009_04_03_chili

In the afternoon I snacked on a red delicious apple, an ataulfo mango, and the rest of the blackberries.  Love that mango.

2009_04_03_fruit

And for dinner I had broccoli tacos!  There were two small WellnessFoods.com whole wheat tortillas, steamed broccoli, whole grain dijon mustard, red and yellow pepper, jo tsai/garlic chives, and Galaxy Nutritional Foods Veggie cheddar flavour soy cheese.  The tacos/wraps were really good.  The cheese was given to me by my roomie who after eating part of the block decided he didn’t really care for it.  It definitely wasn’t very cheese-like, but I think it went pretty well with the broccoli and large amounts of dijon in the taco.  Personally, not being a vegetarian, let alone vegan, if I wanted cheese, I would just buy the real stuff.  My roomie thinks the same way.  I can’t say there’s anything particularly bad about the veggie cheese, it’s just not real cheese.  I don’t plan on buying it myself anytime soon, but won’t reject it if given to me.  And now that I think about it, it is better than Kraft Singles in the flavour department.

2009_04_03_tacos

 

2 Responses to “Rain, rain, go away”

  1. Sharon Says:

    MANGOES!!!! Totally love your eats!!

  2. Krista Says:

    Love the breakfast face! 🙂


Leave a Reply

