Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Less than zero April 6, 2009

As crazy as it sounds, I wish it was colder (or warmer, that might actually be better) out today. Simply because if it was colder we would have real snow (or warmer – rain). As opposed to the slushy mess to be found on the ground outside. The slushy mess that I had to walk through to get to work and unavoidably get wet feet for the rest of the day. I was happy to get home and remove my shoes and socks. Actually, if it were plain raining my shoes might still have gotten wet, so colder would in fact be better. But enough complaining.

Breakfast started off the day with some super crunchy cereal. I had a mix of Health Valley Spelt Flakes with Cranberries, Cinnamon Puffins, and All Bran. Then I topped the bowl with unsweetened vanilla Almond Breeze, some banana slices, and a touch of homemade strawberry jam.

2009_04_06_breakfast

I packed up a few containers to take to work with me today. The first one contained a very yellow Granny Smith apple and some strawberries. I’m a bit disappointed in the strawberries, they’re coming from California now, and aren’t nearly as sweet and flavourful as the crop that was coming out of Florida last month. Must I wait until June to get Ontario strawberries again?

2009_04_06_fruit

A second container held the rest of the grated broccoli stalks and carrot from last night, topped again with strained plain yogurt and Big Bull steak sauce.

2009_04_06_slaw

A third container was filled with zucchini and celery sticks, orange pepper strips, and snow peas.

2009_04_06_vggies

And then I figured I should find some more protein somewhere, so I mashed half a banana with a serving of PB2 and some water, spread the mixture on a La Tortilla Factory Multigrain wrap, and sprinkled the lot with dried blueberries.

2009_04_06_tortilla

This made such a good wrap! The blueberries rehydrated overnight and by lunchtime they were nice a plump and filled the wrap with berrylicious flavour 🙂

2009_04_06_wrap

For dinner I tossed a pile of cauliflower, brussel sprouts, and carrot in olive oil and thyme and roasted them. The veggies were delish. And so were the Terra Sweet Potato chips I had on the side.

2009_04_06_dinner

I even had room for a sweet dessert today, Haagen Dasz Half Fat Vanilla Ice cream topped with Shasha Co. Spelt Ginger Snaps. Nom nom nom.  A nice end to a dreary Monday.

2009_04_06_icecream

 

6 Responses to “Less than zero”

  1. Meredith Says:

    Great blog! You take really good photos!

  2. Leah Says:

    All of your food looks absolutely delicious!!!!
    I love eating wraps with peanut butter & banana… i’ve never tried pb with blueberries tho! I bet it’s great!

  3. Marianne Says:

    Awesome roasted veggies. And I love Terra Chips, especially the mixed ones with all the different root veggies. They are so pretty!

  4. Krista Says:

    Grating broccoli stalks is a genius idea! I acutally love the stalks, but my hubby hates them so this would be a good way to use them. When I was a kid the only part of the brocc that I would eat was the stalk!

    Your wrap looks mucho tasty! 😉

  5. Oh my good gosh, your beautiful meals look so goooooood. I am having a mouth watering situation. 😀


Leave a Reply

