Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

I take it back April 7, 2009

I think Mother Nature decided to take my request for below zero weather a little too seriously. Definitely not spring-like today…

2009_04_07_snow

Before venturing out in the cold this morning I had an awesome yogurty breakfast. In the bowl is strained plain yogurt, hiding applesauce, the last of the ground flaxseed, and a serving of Stephano’s Bakery Deluxe granola (that I had to take out of Biz’s BSI prize to reduce the package weight a little). I’m loving the strained yogurt, I picked up an actual large strainer a couple of weeks ago so I can do a whole container of yogurt at once, instead of one serving at a time in my tea strainer. And a full 24 hour strain is so worth the wait.

2009_04_07_breakfast

For lunch I had a piece of baked basa fish along with a pile of carrot, red pepper, and cucumber. I’ve got a really good 5lb bag of carrots in the fridge, and they need to be eaten so they stop taking up so much space!

2009_04_07_lunch

In the afternoon I snacked on some sweet kiwi and strawberries, and just before coming home I worked my way through the other half of the Nutty Banana Boom Probar. I like how each bite of the Probar has something different in it. And the grain sweetened dark chocolate chips are really good, they’re soft instead of hard. Has anyone seen this kind of chocolate for sale anywhere before? The ingredients of the chocolate chips are whole grain malted barley and corn, cocoa powder, soy lecithin, and pure natural vanilla.

2009_04_07_fruit

For dinner I was inspired after seeing Vegan Dad’s post this morning and fixed up a wonderful mustard coated spread. I defrosted some frozen precooked baby potatoes in the microwave, then tossed them in a mix of stone ground mustard, whole grain dijon and soy milk along with some fresh asparagus. The potatoes and asparagus got a quick roast in the oven while I sauteed the last of my frozen shrimp in a pan with a little sesame oil and a few cloves of roasted garlic. I cleaned out the mustard bowl with chopped red and orange peppers and snow peas, then plated everything up and enjoyed 🙂

2009_04_07_supper

 

5 Responses to “I take it back”

  1. Marianne Says:

    Love your dinner – roasted veggies are always awesome, and shrimp are great. It’s pretty colourful as well 😀

  2. M Says:

    Where are you able to find probars in the GTA? I love me some new bar experiences 🙂

    • plentifulplants Says:

      I found them in the bulk food store in the basement of St. Lawrence Market. But they only have a few bars, and they are about to expire (which is the only reason they have them, I think). If you go looking for them, ask one of the employees where they are, I could try to explain, but it’s kinda complicated, that store is pretty crazy.

  3. Sharon Says:

    Totally love your eats! And mmmm CARROTS!!!

  4. Krista Says:

    All your food today is bright and delicious! I love basa!


Leave a Reply

