Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Happy Un-Friday! April 9, 2009

Breakfast this morning was a crunchy nutty bowl of cereal.  In the mix was Kashi Seven Whole Grain Puffs, Nature’s Path Leapin Lemurs, and Cinnamon Puffins.  Then I threw on some very well camouflaged cranberry glazed almonds, and unsweetened vanilla almond breeze.  To really nut-ify the bowl I mixed some PB2 into the almond breeze first, the result was quite tasty.

2009_04_09_breakfast

I had a few containers packed up to take to work.  I even packed them before the sun went down last night! The first was full of delicious honeydew.

2009_04_09_honeydew

The second was a veggie packed mix of red pepper, snow peas, and sweet carrot slices.

2009_04_09_veggies

And the third held a juicy blood orange, blackberries, and last piece of basa fish, and some fried egg  whites.

2009_04_09_fruit

My dinner didn’t look very pretty, but it was tasty.  I cooked up oat bran with jo tasi/garlic chives, nutritional yeast and salt.  Then I steamed some cauliflower.  And to finish it off, I blended the two pots together, CCV/K style, yummy creamy mushy mess.  That’s worthy of an extra entry or two in Katie’s chocolatey giveaway isn’t it (there’s still time to enter!)?

2009_04_09_dinner

And dessert was something special, cashew pudding.  But it was cashew fruit instead of nut, and it was made simply of the juice and chia seeds.  And it was delicous.  I just had to try the juice when I saw it for sale, it tastes tropicaly, kind of a cross between pear and pineapple, but not tart at all, sort of creamy, I like it.  And I still have half the box to do something with, lucky me 🙂

2009_04_09_puddin

 

6 Responses to “Happy Un-Friday!”

  1. I just tried that ONE coconut water and love it.

    Thanks so much for the shout out, the email, AND blogging about a recipe (I LOVE your savory califlower oat bran idea!!). That’s definitely worth 5 entries!

    And great blog too 🙂

  2. Sharon Says:

    Scrumptious! Love the cereal!

  3. That’s a great mix of cereal.

  4. Krista Says:

    I love your dinner idea!!! Blended supper! Terrific! 🙂

  5. Amanda Says:

    Hey, can I ask where you got the PB2? I’m looking for it in downtown TO but the only place it’s advertised is up in Markam.

  6. Marianne Says:

    That’s a really interesting blended dinner you made. It almost looks like polenta!


Leave a Reply

