Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Good Friday Indeed April 10, 2009

Well I ‘ve enjoyed my day off, and now there’s still a whole weekend to come!  I did some very useful and fun things today, namely shopping for a spring coat and some shirts that actually fit.  All of which I got excellent deals for :-), a coat and 3 nice shirts for <100$, thank you Winners.

The day started off with something I haven’t made in seemingly forever, pancakes!  I started off with a package of Multigrain Instant oatmeal, then mixed it in the food processor with 3 egg whites, 2 tbsp unsweetened vanilla almond breeze, a little (maybe 1/2 tsp) baking powder, and after mixing, a handful of raisins.

2009_04_10_oatmeal

I topped the pancakes with some peanut butter and more raisins.  Then after a few bits I felt something was missing, and I realized there was nothing sweet in the mix, so I sprinkled the plate with ~1/2 tbsp sucanat, and the problem was solved.  The pancakes were nice a fluffy though, which was a pleasant surprise since I kinda made the recipe up since I was too lazy to turn on my computer and search for an actual pancake recipe of this type, and I didn’t remember the recipe I used to use, and don’t have any cottage cheese anyways.

2009_04_10_breakfast

I took lunch with me shopping.  It was simple and Kettle Corn Probar and a fuji apple.  Not a fan of the Kettle Corn flavour…I think it might have been the fennel seed that did it, never was a fan.  It was edible, and I ate the whole bar, but I think they could do with losing a few of the herbs on the ingredients list, namely the fennel and fenugreek.  Actually, now that I look it up, it might have been the epazote leaf that I’ve never heard of before and may have discovered I object to…..  At least the corn kernels were fun.

2009_04_10_bar

2009_04_10_apple

On may way home I stopped by Starbucks to redeem a free drink from filling out an online survey.  An invitation to take the survey is printed on random receipts, and when people leave their receipts with the survey printed on them at the till, the roomie brings them home to me, and sometimes I actually fill them out 🙂  It was a non-fat iced latte that I sweetened with stevia when I got home.

2009_04_10_latte

For dinner I was feeling a lack of colour so far in the day so I fixed up a plate of crunchy veggies.  I had asparagus, snow peas, a carrot, red pepper, and celery.

2009_04_10_veggies

I worked through that plate while waiting for the oven to produce these crispy sweet potato fries.  I made them with olive oil, dried thyme, parsley, sage and (herby, not red salty) poultry seasoning…because we’re out of italian herbs (the HORROR, we go through bags of the stuff).  And I enjoyed the fries with a drizzle of ketchup, and the rest of my cashew fruit juice.

2009_04_10_friesjuice

 

4 Responses to “Good Friday Indeed”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Oh, oatmeal love! Totally love President’s choice.

  2. Love the sweet potato fries, especially with tomato ketchup.

  3. Krista Says:

    Those pancakes look great…and super easy, too!

    Sorry to hear the bar wasn’t very good! I’ve never been a fan of fennel myself…

  4. Meredith Says:

    Mmmm iced latte!


Leave a Reply

