Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Are you going to Scarborough Fair Bluffs? April 12, 2009

Today was a fun adventure to Scarborough Bluffs (33+ km > 3/4 marathon!). I’ve heard of them before, but never seen them, and going there has been on my todo list for a while.

But first breakfast, Peanut Toffee oats again. I cooked oat bran in unsweetened vanilla almond breeze, then topped it with peanut butter and toffee sprinkles. As delicious as ever.

2009_04_11_oatmeal

I passed by these.  They don’t seem to have been adversely affected by the snow and cold since last weekend

2009_04_11_daffodils

I timed the affair so I would get to Bluffer’s Park around lunch time.

2009_04_11_scarborough-bluffs11

I brought along some highly portable sustenance, a Raw Revolution Spirulina and Cashew bar, and a couple small bottle of water. The bar was delicous, but it a bit oily on the fingers. I especially liked the whole almonds and cashews hiding in it.

2009_04_11_lunch

2009_04_11_bar

2009_04_11_nutrition

Then I had fun taking some pictures.

2009_04_11_scarborough-bluffs_img_1684

2009_04_11_scarborough-bluffs_img_1673

2009_04_11_scarborough-bluffs_img_1697

2009_04_11_scarborough-bluffs_img_1707

This little guy didn’t seem to mind that I was kneeling a couple feet away from him.

2009_04_11_scarborough-bluffs_img_1694

He was much more interested in eating his grassy lunch.

2009_04_11_scarborough-bluffs_img_1688

It’s not exactly yachting season yet…

2009_04_11_scarborough-bluffs_img_1669

But there were a few people around.

2009_04_11_scarborough-bluffs_img_1671

2009_04_11_scarborough-bluffs_img_1672

2009_04_11_scarborough-bluffs_img_1678

One of the nicer views of downtown TO on the way home from the Prince Edward Viaduct.

2009_04_11_scarborough-bluffs_pev

By the time I got home I was starving for some early dinner, and luckily my roomie was just finishing a huge pot of stuff, and offered to share (aka he made way too much and wanted help eating it up). I know there’s rice, lentils, parsnips, broccoli, mushrooms, onions, and soy sauce involved.

2009_04_11_rice

I also snacked on a plateful of snow peas, celery, and carrot along with a dollop of hummus.

2009_04_11_veggies1

Later in the evening I was hungry again for a snack, and realized I might have gotten a bit of a sunburn on my face from being outside for >7 hours (oops), so I went in search of a source of antioxidants, figuring they could only help.

My eyes landed upon a box of acai berry juice that’s being hanging out in the pantry for a while. This was the first time I tried this, and the juice was really good, but I was a bit put off by the layer of brown/green fat on top of it (that’s supposed to be there, right?). I’m not sick now so I suppose it is. And if the antioxidants are fat-soluble, then they are now on my lips, which I can only suppose will help with the burn.

2009_04_11_juice

I enjoyed the juice along with a piece of microwaved sweet potato with nutmeg, and a slice of Balderson 2 year old cheddar cheese.

2009_04_11_snack

And now I’m ready for bed, good night!

 

3 Responses to “Are you going to Scarborough Fair Bluffs?”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Wow, those pictures are stunning!

  2. Krista Says:

    Gorgeous pictures! Sounds like you had a fabulous day!!

  3. Marianne Says:

    Those Canada Geese don’t tend to care much about anyone around them. Unless you chase them. Then they hiss and try to bit. Not that I ever did that as a child 😉


Leave a Reply

