Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

A lot better than nothing April 13, 2009

Busy, yay! I finally got a bunch of stuff to do at work today, not exactly mind stimulating engineering work, mostly pulling reports together, but enough to make the time pass by quickly. On a completely different note, I think my antioxidant filled anti-sunburn plan from Saturday’s Scarborough Bluff adventure may have worked. Yesterday my face was still a little red, but didn’t hurt, and today it is simply tanned. Of course I have no idea if the burn would have been any worse/lasted longer without the acai juice (I need a control!), but it’s something to think about.

This morning started out with a simple yet delicious bowl of Grandma Emily’s Blueberry Cranberry granola with unsweetened vanilla almond breeze and mango.

2009_04_13_breakfast

I might have snacked on a Source Salba Krispy Rice Square in the morning…

2009_04_13_ricekrispie

For lunch I brought along the rest of my Coconut Curry Shepard’s Pie. I let it cool completely in the baking dish yesterday before transferring it over to the lunch container, and the cauliflower top held together much better than when it was still hot. The sauce also bubbled up over the topping in the oven, another reason to use more cauliflower.

2009_04_13_lunch

My afternoon snack was a crisp golden delicious apple and super sweet grape tomatoes.

2009_04_13_apple

When I got home I was craving meat, which is odd for me, but who am I to ignore such a craving? Especially when I had some already cooked in the fridge? I finely chopped some roasted pork tenderloin, heated it with honey garlic barbeque sauce, and served it in romaine lettuce leaves (since I wasn’t really feeling any other veggies).

2009_04_13_dinner

And for dessert I had a Liberte vanilla yogurt with chocolate granola, sweet and delicious (almost a bit too sweet, I’m too used to plain now…)

2009_04_13_yogurt

Now, I’ve been plagued recently with a case of phantom publishes the last few days, so let’s hope this post actually goes up tonight!

 

3 Responses to “A lot better than nothing”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Oh wow, everything looks delicious – Shepard pie!

  2. Krista Says:

    Cute lettuce wraps!!

  3. haya Says:

    that shepherd’s pie looks genius! i’ll have to try that out, though i’m not a cauliflower fan. this could be the thing that changes my mind.


Leave a Reply

