Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Happy Coconutty Easter! April 13, 2009

This beautiful morning started out with tropic-oats.  I fixed up some oatmeal with water, a banana, coconut milk, and some Kashi GoLean Crunch.

2009_04_12_oatmeal

And to up the tropical factor, on the side I cleaned off some mango skins and pits.  Very elegantly, with a wet wash cloth by my side 🙂

2009_04_12_mango

For lunch I continued the tropical theme, with a little Indian influence for my BSI: Coconut entry.  I made an impromptu Coconut Curry Shepard’s Pie, and it was quite delicious.

The filling was just a mix of what was in the fridge, asparagus, carrot, red pepper, snow peas, celery, and roasted pork tenderloin, abouts 3-4 cups worth.  The topping was simply mashed cauliflower, I used ~1/3 of a head (what I had), but I probably could have used more.  The whole dish was brought together with the Coconut Curry Sauce which was simply:

  • 1 cup water
  • 1/3 cup coconut milk (or more if you want)
  • 2 tbsp corn starch
  • 1/2 tbsp curry powder
  • 1 tbsp dried parsley
  • salt, to taste

I boiled all the sauce ingredients until they were nicely thickened while I cut up the veggies.  I put the veggies and sauce in an oven dish, and mixed them up, and put them in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes.

Before the oven:

2009_04_12_veggies

During that time I steamed and mashed my cauliflower, then added that on top of the veggies and put the dish back in the oven for another 20 minutes.  I made 4 small servings, or two large ones.

Here’s a closeup with the cauliflower topping somewhat intact (the reason I would have used more, not that it affects taste).

2009_04_12_currypie

I had a large serving for lunch, very satisfying.

2009_04_12_lunch

Later in the afternoon I snacked on some crunchy carrots with sunflower seed butter, a slightly addictive combination.

2009_04_12_carrots

For dinner I fixed up a La Tortilla Factory Multigrain wrap filled with romaine lettuce, red peppers, canned flaked tuna, several dill pickles, and lots of whole grain dijon mustard.  Dillicious once again.

2009_04_12_wrap

And now I’m enjoying the last few Shasha Co. Gingersnaps while preparing myself to go back to work tomorrow after a long, leisurely weekend.  Well, after the Mentalist and Amazing Race tonight that is….

2009_04_12_cookies

 

4 Responses to “Happy Coconutty Easter!”

  1. Krista Says:

    GREAT BSI entry!!!

    Sounds like we watched the very same TV shows last night!! It was my first time watching The Mentalist and I loved it! 😉

  2. Sharon Says:

    Oh wow, super delicious – totally love your wrap, and mmmm those gingersnaps are too cute. I love the heart shape!

  3. […] dinner I fished out a serving of Coconut Curry Shepard’s Pie from the freezer.  It doesn’t look very pretty, but it still tasted […]

  4. […] dinner I fished out a serving of Coconut Curry Shepard’s Pie from the freezer.  It doesn’t look very pretty, but it still tasted […]


Leave a Reply

