Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

I think I’m in love April 18, 2009

The good thing that I was hoping would work out today, did in fact happen. And as a result I’ve been having way too much fun in the kitchen.

But first breakfast. It was simple, and I wasn’t very hungy. I headed down to St. Lawrence Market and bought entire basket of russet apples, because they’re probably my favourite variety, and can be hard to find. So I had one along with a handful of Sahale Snacks Pomegranate Vanilla Cashews. Delicious.

2009_04_18_breakfast

For lunch I fixed up a quick wrap with a La Tortilla Factory Multigrain wrap, cucumber, red pepper, dill pickle, egg white, and whole grain dijon. It satisfied my craving for tangy salty dills.

2009_04_18_lunch

In the afternoon I had an awesome green monster made with lots of spinach, a russet apple, a date, and water/ice.

2009_04_18_monster

Then a bit later I had a bowlful of strawberry banana sorbet.

2009_04_18_sorbet

And the rest of the sorbet topped with some raw pumpkin seed butter. I swear the butter looks A LOT greener in real life. It just refused to photograph green.

2009_04_18_pumpkin

Can you guess what I did in the lobby of a stranger’s apartment building with a wad of cash after lunch today?

I’ll give you a hint, here’s my dinner about 5 minutes before I ate it.

2009_04_18_vitamix

I bought a VITA-MIX!!!!

And I love it. Thanks to craigslist it only cost me $275CND.  I’ve wanted one since I saw a demo at the CNE last summer, and when I saw it for that price I knew I had to act quickly.

I also made the almond milk that I used in the sorbet, since I just ran out of almond breeze anyway. And even with making all that stuff this afternoon/evening, there’s hardly any mess at all in the kitchen.

My dinner, after blending, became a beautiful carrot celeriac soup which contained ~1/3 celeriac root, 1 huge carrot, 1 small onion, 1 Kallo no salt veggie boullion cube, ~ cup water, pepper, thyme. And I ate half of that. I had celeriac for the first time as remoulade in France, and I fell in love with it, but this is the first time I’ve cooked with it myself, so I’m so happy the soup turned out very nicely.

2009_04_18_dinner

 

5 Responses to “I think I’m in love”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Oh wow, score on the vitamix!!

  2. Meredith Says:

    congrats on the vitamix!

  3. broccolihut Says:

    So jealous of your Vita Mix…I think I NEED one now.

  4. Krista Says:

    Sounds like you had a lot of fun! All the food looks great and I love your little carrot swirls on the soup!!

  5. Marianne Says:

    I’m am officially jealous. Good job on scoring a Vita-Mix through Craigslist. I can only find people getting rid of their other blenders because they got a Vita-Mix.

    Your soup looks very pretty with the carrot roses on top 🙂


Leave a Reply

