Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Moving Day April 20, 2009

This morning at work was moving day for some people (not me, but I helped with some of the furniture rearranging). My company’s been hiring a bunch of people recently, and one person left on Friday to move back to China, so there was cubicle/real office dominos happening as a section of the office’s cubicle walls were also rearranged to make room for new desks. And now every one in Structures is together again, no more exiles to the land of Highways. Infrastructure engineering = recession proof, lucky for me when I actually graduate next year 🙂

The day started out with a sweet and crunchy bowl of Health Valley Spelt Flakes with Cranberries topped with a russet apple, and my homemade almond milk (14 cents/litre instead of $2 = score!, partly due to my cheap $5 2lb bag of almonds I got at Christmas)

2009_04_20_cereal

Then throughout the morning I polished off this huge spinach, strawberry, banana, orange green monster. I made this last night to avoid waking the roomy at 6am, and I completely wasted a smoothie-worth of ingredients because I added the peel with the orange half. Grrr, Vita-mix told me I could do it, and my favourite cranberry relish recipe is just a bag of cranberries, a whole orange, and sugar chopped up, but in the smoothie the orange peel was disgustingly bitter. Never again. But completely delicious sans pith.

2009_04_20_smoothie

For lunch I dug into a huge romaine salad. I chopped up grape tomatoes, carrot, cucumber, snow peas, and red pepper for the topping and mixed them all with homemade asparagus edamummus. And at the last minute I threw on some microwaved egg whites.

The asparagus edamummus is just 2 parts asparagus, 1 part each chickpeas and edamame, and roasted garlic/tahini/lemon/salt. And it’s very yummy if I do say so myself.

2009_04_20_salad

Then later in the afternoon I snack on some honeydew melon and starfruit. And I was quite happy to discover I chose quite a good starfruit, sweet, flavourful, and juicy.

2009_04_20_fruit

I battled my way through the wind and rain on the way home and enjoyed the leftover roasted veggies from yesterday for dinner. The celeriac, cauliflower, and pepper squash (no more brussel sprouts, boo!) took a trip to the oven first though to reheat, along with a few slices of tofu covered in teriyaki sauce.  And I also finished off the mushroom chips.  The plate may look a bit boring and uncolourful, but it sure tasted good.  And the warm food (and a change of clothes) was a welcome relief from the cold, damp commute after getting soaked between work and the bus stop.  My umbrella was definitely not useful in today’s wind.

2009_04_20_dinner

After an Episode of Eli Stone, and a phone call home I decided I was still hungry, so for dessert I sliced up a banana and topped it with pumpkin seed butter and almond milk.  Delicious mashed up.

2009_04_20_dessert

 

5 Responses to “Moving Day”

  1. Sharon Says:

    TOTALLLY YUM! Honeydew melon!! ❤

  2. broccolihut Says:

    Wow that starfruit is so gorgeous. I’ve actually never tasted it–any tips on how to pick a ripe one?

  3. Krista Says:

    That star fruit looks awesome. I’ve never been brave enough to try one, though!!!

  4. Meredith Says:

    The tofu looks so good!

  5. haya Says:

    hurray for being recession proof! i’m working on the other side of all those infrastructure projects (doing the environmental work) and things here at the office these days are INSANE. everyone wants everything by yesterday so i’m constantly trying to catch up/stay one step ahead.


Leave a Reply

