Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Chocolate Heaven April 21, 2009

Today was a busy day at work, I never even got a change to open my gmail/reader, let alone start writing this post.  I even stayed half an hour late in order to finish up one section of what I was doing so I can start a new one tomorrow.  Makes up for all those days of nothing to do a few weeks ago.

I started off with a slice of toasted ezekiel bread with strawberry, blackberry, acai jam.

2009_04_21_toast

It was a small breakfast, but I made up for it by sipping on a giant, quite thick monster all morning long.  This decadant tasting treat contained a ton of spinach, soft tofu, TWO bananas, and cocoa powder.  So creamy, chocolatey delicious.

2009_04_21_monster

For lunch I had a giant Kath and Kelsey inspired salad.  The based was romaine, carrot, cucumber, and red pepper.  Then on top I mashed a can of sardines (alas, same brand but just packed in water), and mixed them with mustard, dried dill, and dill pickles.  Mustard + dill = amazing, can’t believe I’ve never had that combination before.

2009_04_21_salad

In the afternoon I snacked on a contained of tomato, starfruit, and bosc pear.  For those who are interested, a good starfruit, is firm, with no green left, but only the smallest possible amount of brown at the edges.  And I hear they do ripen on the counter if the store only has partly green ones.  And you can eat the entire thing.  And they’re very yummy, the flavour’s subtle, not hit you over the head strong or sweet, but they taste refreshingly tropical.

2009_04_21_fruit

One my way home I dug into a Chia Razz Weil Bar.  Very good, I love the raspberry flavour.

2009_04_21_bar

And for dinner I was feeling lazy, so I nabbed myself a fresh sesame bagel from a platter in the kitchen at work, and spread half with asparagus edamummus, and had the other half with nuked egg whites and some ridiculously good dill havarti.  And surprisingly now, a few hours later, I’m still full.  The bagel was pretty big, but it was white bread, I wasn’t quite expecting that, but I won’t complain.

2009_04_21_dinner

 

4 Responses to “Chocolate Heaven”

  1. Sharon Says:

    I am in love with that asparagus edamummus!

  2. broccolihut Says:

    Acai jam? Sounds too good to be true!

    Did you make that edamummus yourself?

  3. Krista Says:

    Thanks for the star fruit info!

  4. Marianne Says:

    Edamummus! I love that you are using my word 😀 The addition of asparagus sounds interesting.

    And you went for the sardines eh? I don’t think I’ve ever had a sardine. They’ve never sounded like something I would want to eat. Maybe one day I’ll get brave.


Leave a Reply

