Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Happy Earth Day! April 22, 2009

For breakfast this morning I started out with a sweet and crunchy bowl of Dorset Fruits, Nuts and Seeds cereal tossed with a chopped russet apple, and almond milk.  A perfect bowl to start the day.

2009_04_22_beakfast

For lunch I dug into an awesome stirfry containing snow peas, tofu, shitake mushrooms, sesame oil, and teriyaki sauce (the soy-like kind).  The mushrooms were so flavourful, and at $4/lb, I can’t complain.

2009_04_22_stirfry

The stirfry was followed by soup made by blending pepper squash, lentils, thyme, sage, nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves.  I made the cubicle-mate jealous with the scent of the soup when I heated it in the microwave at work (I’m usually lazy and eat my food at room temperature).

2009_04_22_soup

Then in the afternoon I sipped my way through this monster.  I kept the spinach, apple, strawberries, banana, and chia seeds cold until afternoon by using less water, and filling the bottle with ice cubes before leaving in the morning, it worked perfectly.

2009_04_22_monster

And when I finally made my way home tonight, I chopped up a pile of veg, tossed it with sage, thyme, dill, whole grain dijon, and olive oil.  Half an hour later I sat down to a giant steaming hot bowl of delicious roasted cauliflower, broccoli, carrot, and celeriac (the last of it) covered in a ketchupy drizzle.  Perfect warm me up food for the cold dreary weather outside.  And calorie-count.com tells me there are 20 g of protein (not complete, but a single meal doesn’t have to be) and 25 g of fiber in that bowl, and that’s not counting the seasonings!

2009_04_22_dinner

 

2 Responses to “Happy Earth Day!”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Oh my gosh, your dinner is awesome!

  2. Amanda Says:

    I’ve tagged you in a meme about you and your aspirations. Do check it out: I’d love to see your replies!

    http://summer2009getfit.blogspot.com/2009/04/8-things-meme.html


Leave a Reply

