Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Purple monster and a meme. April 23, 2009

So we turned the heat off over a month ago in our apartment, and refuse to turn it back on.  As a result, it’s been a bit chilly the past few days, especially with no sunlight to warm things up through all the south and west facing windows.  So this morning I warmed up with a big bowl o’ oat bran.  I nuked it with almond milk and a banana before topping it with crumbly pumpkin seed butter and raisins.  An excellent bowl of oats to start off the day.  Though I am considering attempting to add a little oil to the pumpkin seed butter to make it more….buttery.

2009_04_23_oatmeal

That bowl kept me nicely satisfied right until lunch time when a pulled out a romaine salad topped with red pepper, cucumber, lentils, and asparagus edamummus.  This was the best salad I’ve had in a while, the red pepper, lentils and edamummus together were awesome.

And because Caroline asked, I did make the hummus myself and it contains approximately 2/3 cup each chickpeas and edamame, 1 trimmed 340 g bunch raw aspargus, 1 T tahini, 2 T lemon juice, half a head of roasted garlic, and a little salt.  And a trip in the Vita mix for an awesome smooth store bought texture my food processor has never given me.

2009_04_23_salad

In the afternoon I started drinking a purple monster containing frozen broccoli, frozen blueberries, and soft tofu.  Unfortunately it didn’t taste very good because I threw in too much tofu and the berries have been in the freezer forever and had no flavour left, so I only drank about half of it.

2009_04_23_purple

Luckily I had also brought along a Chocolate Almond Fudge Clif Bar.  My fridge was suddenly looking very barren after the huge veggie bowl last night.  This is the first time I tried this flavour, and I wasn’t particularly impressed, probably won’t buy it again.  It’s either too sweet or not enough chocolate, or both.

2009_04_23_clif

For dinner I fixed up another awesome stirfry, same as yesterday except instead of snow peas I found a bag of asparagus in the freezer, the last bag of frozen veg from my parent’s garden last year.  In the mix was tofu, shiitake mushrooms, asparagus, sesame oil and teriyaki sauce.  Along side I enjoyed a perfectly ripe, local greenhouse tomato.

2009_04_23_dinner

Then for dessert, to make up for the dissapointing blueberry smoothie earlier in the day I enjoyed a Source Salba Blueberry bar.  And it was delicious.  It’s a bit high in sugar, but the agave nectar they use makes all their bars taste amazing.  Perfect for the occasional treat.

2009_04_23_salba

And finally, because Amanda tagged me:

8 Things I’m Looking Forward To:
1. Going back to school in September
2. Going home next weekend for my mom’s birthday
3. Possibly going to San Francisco next year
4. Losing another 50-60ish pounds
5. Switching to summer hours and having Friday afternoons off again
6. A certain cake in a couple of weeks
7. St. Lawrence Farmer’s Market opening for real in the summer
8. Iron Ring! (and finding myself a good job/career afterwards)

8 Things I Did Yesterday: (yesterday was a pretty uneventful day…)
1. Spent the entire day at work happily occupied with real engineering work 🙂
2. Got off the subway and walked part way home, even though it was kinda cold.
3. Watched an episode of Bones.
4. Used my Steel Design Code for the first time in over a year (concrete dominates for sure).
5. Taught the roomie how to use the Vita-Mix.
6. Finished the entire crossword on the ride to work.
7. Walked under a series of roof slabs I had spent the day calculating that they failed under the current safety codes.
8. Ate a ton of veggies.

8 Things I Wish I Could Do:
1. Speak Mandarin (yes, I’m stealing it from Amanda, it’s technically my first language, but I mostly forgot it when I started kindergarten)
2. Magically lose 50-60ish pounds RIGHT NOW (right up there with winning the lottery without entering).
3. Run, but I’m working on it.
4. Have a small outdoor garden.
5. Figure out a thesis topis for next year.
6. Eat what ever I want without having calories matter (doesn’t everyone?)
7. Be better about keeping in touch with people.
8. Be more outgoing/sociable in general.

8 Shows I Watch: (in no particular order, and not all-inclusive)
1.  Boston Legal (but it’s done now…)
2. Monk
3. Psych
4. Eureka
5. Eli Stone
6. Project Runway
7. Chuck
8. Bones

8 People I’m Tagging:

I’m assuming if this meme has found it’s way to me, most other people have been tagged already, if you want to do it, go ahead 🙂

 

6 Responses to “Purple monster and a meme.”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Awh, sorry to hear purple monster wasn’t as good. But I love the radiant purple color!

    And Project Runway is so good – did you watch CANADA PROJECT RUNWAY!?!?!?!?

  2. Erin Says:

    Your food always looks so pretty. I wish I had the creativity and foresight to arrange mine like yours.
    Love the list!

  3. Ricki Says:

    Great meme! And I’m looking forward to that cake, too 😉

    Wish I could run, too–but I bet you get there!

  4. hillary Says:

    hi ruth! i stumbled across your blog as the result of this meme thing, and i’m so glad i did! reading about your healthification project is inspiring, and your writing and photography is great! please check out my blog, healthygirlcooking.blogspot.com, if you’re interested in trying some of my recipes. i’m going to put a link to your blog on my site to share it with my readers. best of luck with your goals–it looks like you’re already succeeding fabulously!
    xo
    hillary

  5. Amanda Says:

    Yay you did it! This makes me happy–don’t discredit yourself though, apart from the one blog I found it at (I wish I knew whose it was, but I was blog-jumping through other people’s lists and didn’t really think when I copied it.)

    “eat whatever and not have calories count” Yeahh… honestly, when I meet people who seem to do this (I’m sure they just don’t eat real food, thats why it only SEEMS they can eat 1700 calories of cupcakes a day without gaining… this is what I tell myself.)

    Come to the hart house with me–elliptical is soo much easier on your legs. After running last Friday I have sworn off outdoors till I can run on dirt.. those shin splints were horrid!

  6. broccolihut Says:

    Ooh thanks for the recipe and the shout-out! I must try that edamummus immediately…if only I had a nifty VitaMix like you!

    Asparagus and mushrooms is one of my favorite veggie combinations!


Leave a Reply

