Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Where did spring go? April 24, 2009

It seems like spring has just started, yet tomorrow we’re set to jump into summer with a toasty high of 27!  That just seems a bit excessive.  But you can count on me mixing up some icy eats in the vita-mix.  But first what I ate today.

The day started with breakfast.  I have no greens left in the fridge OR freezer aside from romaine and the rest of the frozen asparagus.  And those seem wrong for a green monster.  So this morning I fixed up a veggie devoid smoothie (shocking, I know).  I drank up a tasty combination of Natura unsweetened soy milk, banana, Kaizen chocolate protein powder, PB2, and cocoa powder.  Pure choco-peanut-banana deliciousness.

2009_04_24_smoothie

I actually sipped that all morning long, and also had a russet apple with peanut butter first thing.

2009_04_24_apple

For lunch I had the rest of my pepper squash lentil soup.

2009_04_24_soup

And in the afternoon I snacked my way through an orange, pear, tomato, carrot, and cucumber.

2009_04_24_veggies

Then for dinner I made a lazy-chefs salad, wherein I couldn’t be bothered to cut up the veggies into bite size pieces.  So my salad turned into romaine lettuce wraps filled with carrot, red pepper, and asparagus edamummus.

And for dessert I had poor man’s pie.  A slice of poppy seed rye bread topped with BUDD-AH and maple syrup instead of the traditional molasses, YUMMY.

2009_04_24_dinner

 

3 Responses to “Where did spring go?”

  1. Sharon Says:

    The apple and peanut butter is so cute!

  2. Helen Says:

    Great way to eat the apple and I love the carton of snacks.

  3. Marianne Says:

    I have never heard of poor man’s pie. Sounds tasty though 😉 Although, how can you go wrong with bread & butter, really?

    Kaizen is the protein powder I buy as well, but I only get the vanilla. I figure it’s more versatile, and I can always add cocoa powder if I need a chocolate fix 🙂


Leave a Reply

