Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Free fruit (and chocolate)! April 27, 2009

This morning started off with a relaxing breakfast enjoyed almost-outside, a hard boiled egg and a plateful of my BSI Morning Glory Bread. While rearranging my room yesterday I put a rocking sofa chair (is there a word for that?) beside the window, right where the breeze hits when I open my window the whole two inches wide. And I’ve discovered it makes a lovely little spot to look out (mostly at the sky) and enjoy a meal with some fresh air.

2009_04_27_breakfast

For lunch I packed up the leftover balsamic asparagus and some orange dill Lake Erie striped bass from last night along with green pepper strips.

2009_04_27_lunch

As well as Liberty plain non-fat yogurt with Dorset fruits, nuts, and seeds cereal.

2009_04_27_yogurt

And for snacks I had packed some strawberries and pineapple. But I didn’t eat them. But I’m including the picture to replace the fact I have no picture of what I did eat. Namely a little plate of mixed melon, kiwi, and blueberries, and a piece of a brownie. The fruit was leftover from a lunch meeting. And the brownies (as well as lemon squares) were brought in by my cubicle-mate for her birthday. And I knew they were from My Market Bakery in Kensington Market, so I has to try a piece, and as I suspected, it was amazingly delicious (with cherries on top!).

2009_04_27_fruit

For dinner I made use of some items I found lurking in the cupboard.  I made some sushi-esque wraps, both filled with orange pepper and asparagus edamummus, one wrap with only nori, and the other with both nori and rice paper.   They were some pretty tasty bites, I was pleased.

2009_04_27_dinner

Then I blended up the strawberries and pineapple I brought to work with ice and Celestial Seasonings Peach White tea to make a sweet smoothie.  Of which I only drank about half because it was too sweet for me…maybe I should have added greens…

2009_04_27_smoothie

Then for dessert I had a different kind of sweet, a couple of parnoosh dates mixed with 2 T of dried coconut.  I’ve never had a coconut cream pie larabar (and don’t those have almonds too?) but this sure was good.

2009_04_27_dessert

Now I think I’m going to mix up a breakfast cookie for tomorrow. Though I sure do wish I could make it using the peanut butter and protein powder I could win in Nicole’s 100th post giveaway over at Just Sweet Enough!

And another note, Marianne commented that she had never heard of poor man’s pie, which got me to googleing, and I couldn’t find ANYTHING about my version.  I found a bunch of recipes for what looks suspiciously like a pie-sized butter tart, and some bread pudding in a pie crust, but no mention of a simple slice of bread spread with butter and molasses.  Which just seems odd to me because that’s what my dad would always call it (and he often used corn syrup too, especially for us kids who didn’t like molasses so much by itself).  And I assume he got it from my grandma, who grew up in Alabama.  So maybe it’s a southern thing?  A southern thing that hasn’t managed to make its way to the internet yet?  Will I become famous for bringing it to light? 😉

 

5 Responses to “Free fruit (and chocolate)!”

  1. Marianne Says:

    Teehee – I love that you specified your striped bass as coming from Lake Erie! Way to eat local!

    You sushi/rice paper wraps look very interesting. I have some nori in my cupboard from the one time I made sushi, and I never know what to do with it.

    And I love the shout out 😉 I really was curious though, I had never heard of it. But really, it makes sense, the name and all.

  2. Sharon Says:

    Oh wow, that is one delicious morning start. I want that bread, please.

  3. Helen Says:

    Mmmm yummy breakfast. I love eggs.

  4. Krista Says:

    Great looking dinner!

    I must remember to buy that cereal!!!

  5. Amy Says:

    Wow that date/coconut ball looks delicious!

    I love your blog..your photos..your food..everything. You’re so creative 😀

    Have a fabulous day, Ruth !


Leave a Reply

