Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Mixing things up April 28, 2009

This raining day started out with a mishmash breakfast of a beautiful bartlett pear, and egg with salt and pepper, and a breakfast cookie made simply of oatmeal, pumpkin, a few raisins, pumpkin pie spice, and a little stevia.  Random, but delicious.  I’ve been putting off a craving for pumpkin for a while because I needed to come up with something to do with the rest of the giant can.  I’ll think I’ll try freezing some.

2009_04_28_breakfast

Lunch was a slightly unphotogenic hodgepodge of fridge finds, red pepper, carrot, cucumber, lentils, snow peas, tofu and asparagus edamummus.  Again, random but delicious.

2009_04_28_lunch

And in the afternoon I enjoyed a blended green monster of a banana, a russet apple, lots of spinach, and a couple spoonfuls of chia seeds.

2009_04_28_monster

When I got home I put the can of pumpkin to use to make sauce for a plate of steamed broccoli.  The sauce contains red onion and mushrooms sauteed in a little olive oil, then tossed with pumpkin, soft tofu, salt, pepper, and dried sage.  And with a sprinkle of lime juice on top, it turned into a delicious plate of food 🙂

2009_04_28_dinner

And to finish the night, dessert was a delightful fruit and cheese affair.  Pineapple and brie to be exact.  This Allegro low-fat brie tastes rather amazing, I wasn’t missing triple creme brie in the least (well, that’s probably because I haven’t had any in years and forget just how tasty it is), and was perfectly happy to save the 40 or so cals per ounce.

2009_04_28_dessert

 

3 Responses to “Mixing things up”

  1. Sharon Says:

    I love your lunch mix!

  2. Marianne Says:

    Brie! Oh, how I love brie 🙂 So easy to eat so much of it in one sitting. I can see how a lower fat variety would be useful 😀

  3. Meredith Says:

    I don’t think your lunch is unphotogenic at all!!!


Leave a Reply

