Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Can’t get enough April 29, 2009

…of them fruits and veggies 🙂

This morning started out with a deliciously thick and creamy fruit smoothie.  I blended up strawberries and a banana with water and chia seeds.  I love how thick the chia makes the smoothie, I actually ate it with a spoon like pudding!  And I love how the chia seeds keep me full for HOURS.  I didn’t think about lunch till 1!  The funky grey pink colour is due to the sun having JUST risen, it really was pinker than that…

2009_04_29_smoothie

When I finally did break out my lunch I  munched my way through a container of green, red, and orange peppers, carrot, and cucumber.

2009_04_29_veggies

All those tasty veggies were dipped in the last of the asparagus edamummus.  And I had the rest of the left over orange dill striped bass too (I need to get some protein from somewhere after all!).  The hummus really is greener too…

2009_04_29_fish

Late in the afternoon I enjoyed another slice of my morning glory bread.  I’m quite enjoying this stuff, I’m obviously going to have to experiment more with dehydrating things….

2009_04_29_bread

Then for dinner I loaded up a plate of veggies, red leaf lettuce, red, orange, and yellow pepper (can you tell they were on sale?), carrot, snow peas, and dill pickles.  And I felt like having non-oil and vinegar dressing, and the only thing in the fridge was Kraft Calorie-Wise Ceasar, so I went with it.  I should pick up a better dressing next time I see something good.

2009_04_29_salad

And desset was amazing.  I tossed pineapple with a little sucanat and vanilla, and sauteed it in a frying pan until all the juice had evaporated and the fruit started to caramellize.  Then I topped the bowl with Kashi GoLean Crunch.  Crunchy, sweet, delicious!  And the perfect solution to the to-much-pineapple-sore-tongue problem, does anybody else get that?

2009_04_29_fruit

 

3 Responses to “Can’t get enough”

  1. Krista Says:

    Great dessert!

    I’m going to have to look into those chia seeds. Anything to keep the hunger at bay longer works for me! 😉

  2. Sharon Says:

    Oh what a great way to enjoy pineapple!

  3. Kristie Says:

    I really need to get my hands on some chia seeds, extra thick smoothies are just fine by me!

    I hate the sore tongue pineapple problem! I’ll definitely have to try it your way, pineapple is awesome but caramelized? Heck yes!


Leave a Reply

