Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Under the Sea April 30, 2009

I’ve inexplicably had that song stuck in my head all afternoon.  And I don’t know why, I didn’t even like The Little Mermaid when I was a kid.

Anyway, my breakfast this morning was a tasty blenderful of banana, apple, chia seeds, and spinach.

2009_04_30_monster

And lunch was a huge pile of various peppers and a couple of carrots.

2009_04_30_peppers

Plus a pear and brie.

2009_04_30_pear

And I enjoyed the last of the Morning Glory bread.

2009_04_30_bread

I also grabbed a handful a my chinese trail mix I keep at work since I was starving by late afternoon.  I’ll get a picture some other time but it contains a variety of dried soy beans, raisins, goji berries, and pumpkin seeds, plus spices.  And it’s delicious.  My mom brought it back from Taiwan last time she went, but I’ve seen the same mix in chinese grocery store here.

Then for dinner I did an excellent job of cleaning out the fridge by steaming a pile of broccoli and tossing it with lime juice, stirfrying onion, mushroom, peppers, and snowpeas with sesame oil, and whipping up some egg fo yung (2 whole eggs, soy sauce, and sucanat).

2009_04_30_dinner

Then to finish off (because I was really hungry, and that huge bowl wasn’t quite enough) I had half an enormous banana.

2009_04_30_banana

And now I need to go do a pile of dishes, and pack to go home for a visit tomorrow (and my mom’s birthday)!  I think I’ll have time to do tomorrow’s post before leaving, but expect a weekend recap on Sunday night or Monday when I get back 🙂  Though I don’t know how much of a post there will even be tomorrow because there’s a staff lunch at work and I plan to partake since my fridge is nicely emptied for the weekend away, and the hope of a shopping trip with a car on the way back….

 

4 Responses to “Under the Sea”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Oh wow, everything looks delicious!

  2. Meredith Says:

    I was just thinking tonight about how much I love bell peppers, and here you are with such a gorgeous picture of them!

  3. Marianne Says:

    You green smoothie looks totally like pudding. Must be those chia seeds!

  4. Krista Says:

    The pear/brie combo sounds fabulous! Have a fun visit home!


Leave a Reply

