Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Orange and Green May 7, 2009

Those two colours seem to have been the unintentional theme today.

It was dark and cold and rainy when I got up this morning, which made me want a warm breakfast.  So I threw some of the awesome Hewitt’s oats my mom gave me, some Dorset Fruits, Nuts, and Seeds cereal, cinnamon, and a banana in a pot with water.  That oatmeal is seriously good…

2009_05_07_breakfast

While my breakfast was cooking I was busy chopping up some fruit and veggies for work.  I filled the classy broken-cornered Rubbermaid container with carrot, red pepper, snow peas, cucumber, and steamed broccoli sprinkled with lime juice.  And I channeled my inner Picasso while packing everything up.

2009_05_07_lunch

The fruit side was covered by an orange, a granny smith apple, and blackberries.

2009_05_07_snack

For dinner I rediscovered the can of pumpkin that’s been hiding on the top shelf of the fridge.  Well, it was actually in plain view, but I tend to keep my food on the middle shelf, so if I stick something on the top shelf my eyes like to skip over it.  I sauteed more of the giant vidalia onion with mushrooms and soft tofu in olive oil, then mixed in pumpkin, water, pumpkin pie spice, maple syrup and a handful of chives, blended, then topped with a spoonful of yogurt for a delicious (and rather large!) bowl of soup.

2009_05_07_dinner

 

5 Responses to “Orange and Green”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Mmmm, everything looks great – especially the fresh fruits!

  2. Marianne Says:

    Very artsy with all your eats today 😀 I love the chive “growing” out of the centre of your soup.

  3. jackie Says:

    Hi,

    I read your blog everyday. You have some interesting ideas about mixing food. Keep it up and congrats on the weight loss.

    Sincerely,
    Jackie

  4. Amanda Says:

    U of T sent me to Virginia to work till the 15th.. I’ll be back I promise! Mmmmm PB2

  5. Amanda Says:

    Oh, and do you want anything here in particular?


Leave a Reply

