Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

The Multitasker May 10, 2009

So I’m currently multitasking by writing this post during commercial breaks.  So aside from the fact that I’m happy that the team I wanted to won The Amazing Race, I have a complaint.  This silly Oasis commercial telling you to buy their juice because it’s Canadian.  WTF?!? Since when did oranges grow in Canada?  I’m sure it’s packaged in Canada, but the oranges are definitely grown in the States (or Mexico?).  And apparently no body else has noticed the irony (or the cuteness), because I can’t find a clip of the commercial on youtube.  Talking oranges in toques, seriously? 100% Canadian taste my bum.

Anyways, breakfast this morning was a super crunchy bowl of Kashi Flakes and Granola and GoLean Crunch cereals with sweet strawberries and milk.

2009_05_10_breakfast

For lunch I had a giant salad with romaine, carrot, tomato, cucumber, and snow peas dressed in lemon juice.

2009_05_10_salad

And for dessert, a bit more delicious cake.

2009_05_10_cake

Later in the afternoon I was hungry for something a bit more savoury, so I stuffed a small whole wheat tortilla with one of the best sandwich fillings, peanut butter and dill pickle.  Has anyone else tried this Kinsey Milhone specialty?

2009_05_10_wrap

And finally for dinner, I took a pair of scissors to my little herb garden.  I cooked up some Kamut Spirals and tossed them with asparagus sauteed in lemon juice, thyme, and olive oil.  The I topped it with a salmon fillet pan fried with tarragon.  I think I’m in love with the salmon/tarragon combination, and the fresh is (not surprisingly) so much better than the dried I’ve had before.

2009_05_10_dinner

And now to direct my full attention to the delightful Patrick Jane.

 

4 Responses to “The Multitasker”

  1. Sharon Says:

    PATRICK JANE!!! ❤ ❤
    And ooh I need to catch up on Amazing Race! LOL, don’t tell me, don’t tell me.

    I’m drooling over your cake.

  2. Helen Says:

    Wow the pasta/salmon meal looks amazing. I really miss salmon since becoming vegetarian.

  3. Krista Says:

    I asked my hubby the very same orange question yesterday!! I’m quite certain we have NO oranges growing in our country!

    Your eats today look delish! PB and pickle is def a combo I’ve never seen before, but I won’t knock it till I try it! 😉

  4. M Says:

    That cake looks so good! Congrats on being done! I JUST handed in my LAST UNDERGRAD THING ever. I think I’m going to send myself an Edible Arrangement (although they are super overpriced). Cheers!


Leave a Reply

