Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Sweet Strawberries May 11, 2009

So today was an extra long day at work. But only by 45 minutes. And I’m perfectly okay with it because it means next weekend will be EXTRA EXTRA long 🙂 12:30 Friday to Tuesday morning, go May 2-4 a week early this year (I just realized it this morning, hence the excitment)!

Breakfast this morning I was happy to have a green monster featuring a banana, apple, spinach, and chia seeds. Yummy, and it didn’t even look any darker despite the addition of black chia seeds instead of white.

2009_05_11_monster

For lunch I brought a zucchini, celery, and carrot all chopped up and waiting to be dipped in a tasty, but slightly odd sweet salsa/relish thing made by my roomie’s grandma.

2009_05_11_veggies

2009_05_11_salsa

And of course some fruit, tomato, strawberries, and frozen pineapple and grapes. I wasn’t going to buy strawberries until local ones came since the last ones I bought were quite diappointing, but when I walked by the display the over whelming berry aroma broke my resolve. And I’m glad it did because these one’s are so sweet and delicious!

2009_05_11_fruit

For an afternoon snack I had a  nice and crunchy Starbucks yogurt and garnola parfait (a barista roomie perk).  The slices of strawberry in the yogurt were MASSIVE! I loved it!

2009_05_11_yogurt

For dinner I made a delish stirfry of tofu, snow peas, portabello, wild leeks, rice, thyme, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar.

2009_05_11_dinner

And finally, for dessert, I savoured the last little slice of delicious chocolate cake. Thanks again Ricky!

2009_05_11_dessert

 

5 Responses to “Sweet Strawberries”

  1. Ricki Says:

    The stir-fry sounds delicious! And glad the cake held up until today–it still looks good! 🙂

  2. sarah Says:

    That stir fry looks very yummy! :o) I am addicted to strawberries right now – they are soooo good – its awful when you get a bad batch but when they are good they really are good!

  3. Sharon Says:

    Mmmm, everything looks great, especially cake!

  4. Helen Says:

    The stir fry looks amazing, I’m a big fan of stir fries.

  5. Krista Says:

    Great looking stir fry!!

    That “salsa” reminds me of a chili sauce that I use to make as preserves every year…


Leave a Reply

