Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Mama needs to learn her colours May 12, 2009

As in Mother Nature. Why are all the purple vegetables called red? Red cabbage, red onion, and now red kale. Which featured in my delicious afternoon snack. But we’ll get to that in a bit.

For breakfast I started out with a fantastically awesome bowl of oatmeal. For some reason, I’ve never actually made pumpkin oats. I liked the idea, and it sounded good, it just never actually happen. That changed this morning. In the bowl is oatmeal, pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, maple syrup, and pumpkin seed butter. Amazing! I now understand why some people eat it so often.  The maple syrup helped too though, it’s so good!  From my roomie’s uncle’s sugar shack…because we only have 3 jugs of it occupying space in the fridge…plenty to last us the year.

2009_05_12_breakfast

For lunch I chopped up a red pepper, carrots, cucumber, and strawberries (sorry, no art today).

2009_05_12_lunch

And I had a delicious green monster throughout the afternoon. I tried two new things in my smoothie today, red (aka purple) kale, and Vanilla Spirutein. Both were excellent, especially when combined with a banana, mango, and pineapple. There was a gritty nature to my monster, which might have been from the protein powder, but it could also have been from the pineapple since it was the core that I added. Either way I didn’t mind at all, I’m used to the slightly gritty ground chia seeds anyways.

2009_05_12_monster

I even got my cubicle-mate to try it. She obviously saw the green colour first and was intrigued, then when she caught of whiff of the scent she loved it, so I offered her a taste. She liked it, and asked what was in it. And the next question was “What’s kale?” Hehehe…oh dear.

There might have been a few parnoosh dates consumed upon arrival at the apartment, but the camera didn’t see.

Then for dinner I steamed a huge pile of broccoli, cooked up some chicken with sesame oil, and sliced a tomato with salt and pepper. Perfect.

2009_05_12_dinner

And for a shocker, no cake tonight!

 

2 Responses to “Mama needs to learn her colours”

  1. Krista Says:

    Pumpkin oatmeal is delish!

    I never noticed before that perple veggie’s are called “red”. I’ll be thinking about that everytime I see some now! 🙂

  2. Marianne Says:

    The purple kale is always called purple kale when I’ve seen it at the grocery store here 🙂


Leave a Reply

