Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Minty Green May 15, 2009

I had a couple surprises today, both of them fun things.

This first surprise was when I got up this morning and the roomie was gone!  Apparently he worked this morning, which means I was free to make as much noise as I wanted.  Enter the blender.  A foot long sprig of chocolate mint, chocolate rice protein powder, red kale, chia seeds, a banana and grapes.  Amazing.

2009_05_15_monster

This protein powder was pretty good, a first time try for me.  I bought a berry flavoured one too.

2009_05_15_protein

For lunch I repeated my salad mess.   They’re really tasty.  Today I included zucchini, tofu, orange pepper, yogurt, stone ground mustard, and a handful of chives.

2009_05_15_lunch

And lunch dessert was a granny smith apple with almonds.

2009_05_15_snack

My second surprise of the day was when we finished all the work we could do on site, so we went home early!  Extra long weekend for the win, even though I didn’t actually work summer hours this week!

So I went for a long walk this afternoon, and at some point the idea of a sandwich for dinner popped into my head and sounded like the best idea in the world.  So I actually stopped into grocery store on the way home to pick up the necessary ingredients (I never do that).  I ended up with a whole wheat kaiser roll, sliced turkey breast, and herbed goat cheese.  At home I also added mustard, freshly picked parsley, tomato, and dill pickle.  It was a pretty awesome sandwich, and it made my stomach very happy 🙂

2009_05_15_dinner

 

2 Responses to “Minty Green”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Oh wow, that sandwich looks scrumptious!

  2. broccolihut Says:

    Yum! Don’t you just love big messy salads?


Leave a Reply

