Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Brought to you by the letter… May 17, 2009

B!  I noticed an unintentional theme to today while going back through my photos, beets, banana, beans, berries, bagel, balsalmic…  I seemed to be going through a certain section of the dictionary and eating all edible entries!

Let’s start off with another letter B, BSI: Bananas, courtsey of Lara at Thinspired. For breakfast this morning I fixed myself a beautiful bowl Banana Breakfast Pudding, which I originally accidentally made here. The recipe is simple, one banana, 1/3 package (~1/2 cup) soft silken tofu, 2-3 T water, and 1/3 cup oatmeal. Immersion blender, plus toppings = delicious 🙂

2009_05_17_bsi

Though I would like to add a note that the quick cooking oats I used the first time blended more smoothly than the old-fashioned kind I used today. And my toppings of choice were raspberries and honeydew, sweet and summery.

2009_05_17_breakfast

For lunch I did a bit of chopping and trimming and came up with a fresh and flavourful salad of steamed green beans and beet root dressing with yogurt, apple cider vinegar, and tarragon. And on the side were two apricots that I picked up this morning, simply because they amused me in their extreme pointyness and non-fuzzyness (that are unfortunately a bit lost in the 2D photo). They were surprisingly too, apparently they’re “the first of the season”.

2009_05_17_lunch

In the afternoon I snacked on half a bagel spread with strawberry, blackberry, and acai jam.

2009_05_17_bagel

And a piece of chocolate. Cocoa Camino is awesome chocolate, but they could have added a few more (and larger) nut and berry pieces. Though the full size bar might have larger chunks in it, I may have to investigate that some time.

2009_05_17_chocolate

I was especially excited for dinner today after buying the beets in the morning. I usually don’t buy beets, because later in the summer I can easily get my fill for free from the parent’s garden, plus typically, I don’t even eat the root (that’s what compost piles are for, right?), just the greens, and grocery store beets tend to have pathetic greens. But today, I found a giant pile of beets sitting in the organic produce section with lots of BEAUTIFUL greens, and before I could even think about it, I found a bunch in my basket!

So for dinner tonight I sauteed the greens with sweet onion, tofu, olive oil, and a giant handful of parsley, thyme, and sage. Plus I pan “grilled” a portabello mushroom with balsamic vinegar and topped it with herbed goat cheese and tomato slices. Best dinner in a long time, the beet greens were so good!

2009_05_17_dinner

And I did a even did a good job of trimming up my bountiful window herb garden. It’s grown a bit in the past three weeks, hadn’t it? I’ve even been cutting away at it before today…

2009_05_17_plants

And now for what will surely be a good Desperate Housewives finale, and getting ready to NOT go to work tomorrow, yay!

 

9 Responses to “Brought to you by the letter…”

  1. Jen Says:

    Wow, the color of that beet root dressing is electric! I’m seriously dying to have my own herb garden. Yours look so healthy!

  2. Sharon Says:

    Oh wow, everything looks splendid! Mmmmm, chocolate! ❤

  3. broccolihut Says:

    Beautiful presentation of your breakfast!

  4. Your oats look delicious–almost too pretty to eat 🙂

  5. Krista Says:

    GREAT dinner! I too love beet greens!!!

    Your herb garden look fabulous. Hopefully we will be prepping my new garden space later on today so I can get planting!

  6. Meredith Says:

    Your dinner looks amazing!

  7. […] Ruth’s Banana Breakfast Pudding […]

  8. Ricki Says:

    That beet dressing is stunning!

  9. Marianne Says:

    Pretty pudding 🙂 Those are two of my favourite fresh fruits you have on top there!


Leave a Reply

