Plentiful Plants

Daily eats of a Torontonian student

Dippity-Do-Dah May 18, 2009

It was a dippity-do-day. And a wonderful lounge-y day.

This morning I leisurely made a batch of Raspberry Cornmeal Pancakes from ED&BV for my roomie and I, and we both loved them. They were especially good topped with his uncle’s maple syrup

2009_05_18_breakfast

For lunch I whipped up the first dip of the day, and made up citrus bean dip. It contained the dredges of my bags of chickpeas, kidney beans, and a few pintos to up the volume (~1.5 cups total after cooking). Then I added the juice of 4 sad little limes that have been drying up on the counter, and a pathetic looking orange that might have started growing a little bit of fuzz on the outside, plus a handful of thyme, a bit of sage, and a sprig of rosemary (that wasn’t large enough to actually taste). It turned out to be a pretty good dip. I scooped it up with red and yellow pepper strips, carrot, cucumber, and steamed broccoli. And lunch dessert was a side of honeydew melon.

2009_05_18_lunch

In the afternoon I snacked on a couple of the best tasting yogurts ever (that I’ve tried so far, having no access to crazy american brands). And I ended up eating the last two pancakes leftover from breakfast too, reheated in the toaster (but no repeat pic).

2009_05_18_snack

The pancakes might have ruined my appetite for dinner a little, so I just sat down to a plate of steamed cauliflower and a tomato paired with dip number two of the day. A mashed avocado mixed with lemon juice and some massamun curry paste, deliciously creamy.

2009_05_18_dinner

And now I need to pack a lunch and head to bed soon so I can get up EARLY to go to a training session that will allow me to wander around subway tunnels without getting electrocuted by the third rail 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Dippity-Do-Dah”

  1. Krista Says:

    Great veggies plates and pancakes!!

    Activia yogurt is definitely the best out there!!!!

  2. Sharon Says:

    MmMmmmm pancakes!


Leave a Reply

